Maruti Suzuki XI and Arihant Group set final date

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: Maruti Suzuki XI of Kathmandu and Arihant Group of Biratnagar entered into the finals of the Nepal Marwadi Cricket League here today.

In a first match at Tribhuwan University Ground, Maruti Suzuki XI defeated Arihant Group by seven runs to finish as the group winner while Arihant reached the finals with better net run rate. All of the other teams have the equal two points from three matches. While, the win was the third for Maruti.

Maruti Suzuki XI lost all wickets in 19.4 overs and scored a low 113 runs after put into bat first losing the toss. Rohit Sharma top scored with 44 runs off 49 balls with six fours. Hitesh Dalmiya opened with 18 runs while Summit Sarma added 16 runs. While, none other scored a double digit.

Manish Kothari, Gaurav Sethu, Arun Bihani and Shambhu Rathi picked up two wickets each for Arihant Group.

In reply, Arihant Group were all out in 106 runs, eight runs short off target. In 19.3 overs play, Pankaj Parakh Pawan scored 18 runs, Rohit Jajodia added 15, Abhishek Agrawal made 12 while Arihant Baid was not out at 10 runs.

Naveen Jain and man of the match Amol Sharma claimed three wickets each while Summit Sharma picked up two wickets. Umesh Kochar also grabbed a wicket.

In the second match, RMC Yodha of Birgunj registered a win by 67 runs against Bagmati Chargers of Bhairahawa. After Jay Prakash Sarraf’s magnificent century RMC Yodha scored a big 197 in loss of three wickets off 20 overs after winning the toss.

Sarraf remained not out at 109 runs off 63 deliveries with fifteen fours and three sixes. Mahesh Jatia added 30 runs off 39 balls while Pawan Agrawal made 19 off 15.

Dinesh Agrawal and Manish Garg claimed a wicket each for Bagmati Chagers.

Man of the match Sumit Kadmiya grabbed four wickets, Pritam Agrawal picked up three while Rahul Agrawal took one as Bagmati Chargers were bundled to 130 in 17.4 overs.

Rahul Agrawal scored 35 runs off 17 balls including five fours and a six while Sunil Sethia put up 26 runs off 27 deliveries hitting four fours and a six. Jai Joshi made 16 while Girdhari Lal Sharma and Damodar Prasad Sharma added 13 runs each.

Maruti Suzuki XI of Kathmandu will now meet Arihant Group of Biratnagar in the finals on Saturday.