Morang,Saptari and Jhapa win

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Morang Saptari and Jhapa have won their respective matches of Purbanchal Regional Cricket to Tournament., being held in Biratnager.

Morang defeated Udaypur  by massive 114 runs in their match held at Degree Campus Ground.Batting first Morang made 204 runs in 25 overs losong 9 wickets. Niraj Thakur topscored for Morang with 30 runs, Somesh Yadav made 39 and Sidhanta Lohani made 26. Shadab Aktar picked up four wickets for Udaypur. In reply Uday pur could only manage 90 runs before getting all out I n33rd over. Utkrista Sigdel scored 24 runs for Udaypur. Manjil Shrestah picked p three wickets for Morang, while Rajkumar Pradhan, Puspa Thapa, Sidantha Lohani picked up 2 wickets each. Sidantha Lohani was declared the player of the match for his all round performance.

In the other match played today Saptari came over Illam by 72 runs., in a match redced to 23 overs, played at Martyr’s Ground Batting first Morang riding on 27 by Mehaboob Alam and 21 each  by Gunandra and Prashant Das made 118 runs  before getting bowled out in 20th over. Prajjwal Shrestha grabbed 4 wickets for Illam. In reply Illam’s innings didn’t last long getting bowled over for 46; Player of the match Kamal Kishor Premi picked up 5 wickets while Kalicharan Yadav picked four.

In other match played at same venue Jhapa defeated Sunsari by 65 runs, in a match reduced to 25 overs. Jhapa posted a score of 142 runs batting first before being bowled out in the final over. Sunny Pun topscored for Jhapa with 42 runs, Mobin Ali and Suresh Guragain contributed with 32 and 29 to shape Jhapa’s innings.Babu Singh picked up 3 wickets of Sunsari and Jenish Shakaya picked up 2. In reply Sunsari were folded for only 77 runs, Miraj shah top scored with 20 runs. Player of the match Amit Dahal picked up 4 wickets.

Two matches of the tournament are scheduled for tomorrow,one each at two venues.

1. Illam vs. Morang

2. Sunsari vs. Saptari