CWC League 2, Nepal Men

Namibia hands a back-to-back defeat to Nepal

The Nepalese national cricket team has suffered a defeat against Namibia in both matches of the series. On Wednesday, Namibia handed Nepal a two-wicket defeat at TU Cricket Ground.

Chasing a target of 169 runs, Namibia completed a chase in 40 overs losing eight wickets. Nepal got two early wickets but a 52-run stand between Michael van Lingen and Gerhard Erasmus eased things for them. Van Lingen scored 31 runs whilst Erasmus played a handy knock of 56-ball 52.

It was JJ Smit who stayed till the end and ensured Namibia’s victory. He scored 34* (66 balls) with one four and two sixes. Ruben Trumpelmann also played a quick cameo of 12-ball 16. 

For Nepal, Kushal Bhurtel picked up three wickets (5-0-28-3). Similarly, Lalit Rajbanshi, Rohit Paudel, DS Airee and Kushal Malla also grabbed one wicket each.

Earlier in the first innings, Nepal were bowled out for 168 runs after being put into bat first. Three batters were dismissed for a duck as Nepal’s inning was wrapped up in 37.1 overs.

Aasif Sheikh and Kushal Bhurtel started quickly before Bhurtel was sent back for 18 runs. Two balls later, Anil Sah was dismissed for a duck by Bernard Scholtz. Dev Khanal too walked back for a six-ball duck as Nepal were 43/3 after eight overs.

Aasif Sheikh and Kushal Malla then shared 57 runs for the fourth wicket before Nepal started losing wickets in quick intervals. Aasif top-scored with 64-ball 58 runs, his 12th fifty in ODI. Rohit Paudel was the third batter to be dismissed for a duck. Kushal Malla hammered 36 runs with three sixes. Bhim Sharki managed 26 runs whereas Karan KC scored run-a-ball 12 before being the last dismissal.

For Namibia, Nicol Loftie-Eaton and