NASA meets Pentagon in final

Cricnepal/Dhangadi: Defending champion NASA International College and Pentagon International College entered into the final of the third edition of the Hotel Devotee SPA Cup with respective victories on Monday.

Pentagon defeated the host Sudur Paschimanchal Academy(SPA) by six wickets while NASA registered 38 runs victory over Mahendra Namuna Higher Secondary School, Dadeldhura.

In the first semi final played, host SPA posted a good target of 183 runs to Pentagon losing 4 wickets. Shubendu Pandey scored a brilliant century while Jeevan Sunwar and Pankaj Kunwar added 25 and 21 runs respectively. Pandey scored 110 runs off 61 deliveries with seven fours and nine sixes.

Hasim Ansari picked up two wickets while Santosh Bhatta and Naresh Budhayer claimed one each for Pentagon.

In reply, Mehboob Alam attacked at his best with 102 runs off just 40 balls with seven fours and ten sixes as Pentagon chased the target in 15.4 overs losing four wickets. Hasim Ansari also contributed 31 runs before going out as a first wicket at the score of 119 runs in seventh over.

Bhuwan Karki, Bikash Bom, Prakash Khadka and Nishant Thapa grabbed a wicket each.

While, in the second match NASA were invited to bat first. Having a disastrous start Mukesh Singh and Rahul Singh provided a strengthening partnership of 67 runs for third wicket as NASA posted total of 182 runs in maximum 20 overs. Rahul scored 76 runs off 48 balls with seven boundaries and four sixes while Mukesh 26 and Bibek Jha 30 were some other major contrbutors. Ragbindra Singh, Niraj Rawal, Surendhra Chand shared two wickets each while Bikram Sob took one for Mahendra.

In reply, Mahendra managed to score only 144 runs in 20 overs. Dilip Nath top scored with 46 runs for Mahendra. Surendra Chand added 29 runs, Bikram Sob remained unbeaten at 21 runs while Dipendra Chand scored 14 runs. None of the other batsman made major runs.

Suresh Guragain claimed highest three wickets, Lal Bahadur Adhikari picked up two while Durgesh Singh, Rahul Singha and Abhay Poudel shared a scalp each.

Finals will be played on Tuesday.