Nepal Men

Nepal advances to SMS Friendship Cup T20 Tri-Series Final after third consecutive win

The Nepalese national cricket team are in the final of SMS Friendship Cup T20 Tri-Series in India. Nepal registered a hard-fought eight-run victory over Gujarat Cricket Association to bag their third win in a row and seal a final spot.

Invited to bat first at Sai Meghpan Sporrtslife Ground, Nepal piled up a decent score of 181/7 at the end of 20 overs. They had a solid start as the opening pair shared 125 runs. Bhurtel was the first man to depart after scoring 66 runs from 44 balls. Nepal fumbled after the first wicket as skipper Rohit Paudel also was dismissed cheaply.

Top-scorer Aasif Sheikh walked back in the first ball of the 18th over. He made 51-ball 85 with ten fours and five sixes. Nepal could manage only 20 runs from 17 balls after his departure.

For Gujarat, Jaymeet Patel picked up three wickets while Aarya Desai and Dhrushant Soni also pocketed two wickets each. 

In the second inning, Gujrat managed to post 171/7, falling short by eight runs. Skipper Umang Kumar top-scored with 47 runs. Gujrat batters attacked Nepalese bowlers Abinash Bohara (49) and Pratish GC (43) who went wicketless and conceded 92 runs from their combined spell. Harsh Desai also played a late cameo of 16-ball 29*.

Sompal Kami (4-0-18-2), Gulshan Jha (4-0-37-2) and Kushal Malla (1-0-3-2) picked up two wickets each for Nepal. Bibek Yadav also took one scalp.

Nepal will now play against Baroda on the fifth of April before playing a final on April 7.