Nepal announces squad for ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 tri-series

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Kathmandu – Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Friday, January 23, announced 14-member squad for the upcoming tri-series involving Oman and USA for the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, hosted by Nepal.

Gyanendra Malla will captain the side with Dipendra Singh Airee being his deputy. Star players Paras Khadka and Sandeep Lamichhane are also back on the squad.  Karan KC, Md. Arif Sheikh, Binod Bhandari, Abinash Bohara, Sushan Bhari, Rohit Kumar Paudel, Sharad Vesawkar and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi are among the picked players for the tri-series.

Two U19 players Kushal Malla & Kamal Singh Airee made in to the final squad ahead of Wicketkeeper/batsman Subash Khakurel, who was all set to come back after recovering from the injury for about a year. Pawan Sarraf, Sandeep Jora and Kishor Mahato are among the other reserved players.

Allrounder Sompal Kami has been given rest due to health conditions. Kushal Malla, Kamal Singh Airee and Sushan Bhari are selected for the first time in seniors men team to play ODI matches.

Head coach Umesh Patwal and Former coach Jagat Tamata took the guard to select the final squad for Nepal.

Nepal will play Oman first match of the tri-seris involving USA on February 5 followed by Oman vs USA on February 6.

Seven international teams – USA, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, UAE, Papua New Guinea and Nepal are fighting each other in the four-year cycle of the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, which started from August 2019 to January 2022. All the other teams have played between 6-8 matches already and Nepal is yet to start its account.




Related news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -