Nepal APF clinches PM Cup Cricket Championship title

The Nepal Armed Police Force Club (APF) clinched the title of the Prime Minister (PM) Cup T20 National Cricket Championship. APF Club trounced Nepal Police Club by 21 runs to win the title in the final held at the TU International Cricket Ground at Kirtipur on Wednesday.

APF Club posted a fighting 157 runs total after losing the toss, in a fresh pitch, prepared for the final. APF lost all its wickets in 19.5 overs. Amar Rautela was the highest scorer, who scored a brisk 29 runs, including three sixes and two boundaries in 15 balls.

Openers Aasif Sheikh (9) and Pradeep Airee (7), who gave an excellent start in previous matches, lost their wicket cheaply. Lokesh Bom, who hit 9 sixes in the semi-final, managed three sixes and a boundary for his 27 runs in 15 balls. APF lost their five wickets for 52 runs inside seven overs and lost their in-form batters during the powerplay. Deepak Bohara made six runs and Puran BK was ousted without making any runs.

Sandeep Jora looked good for his 24 runs off 20 balls, before throwing his wicket. Sharad Vesawkar held one end and anchored the innings, however, he was trapped in front for 19 runs from 25 balls, hitting one boundary. APF Club were going nowhere at 14.3 overs with 3 wickets remaining, with 104 runs on the board.

Meanwhile, Bhuwan Karki and Amar Singh Routela steadied the innings, adding vital 42 runs for the eighth wicket. Karki contributed 17 runs from 22 balls with a boundary and took the total to a respected total. Avinash Bohara remained not out at one run while Kishor Mahato hit one boundary in his eight runs to close the innings.

Nepal Police Club’s Dipendra Singh Airee and Sagar Dhakal took three wickets each while Gulshan Jha took two wickets. Similarly, Aarif Sheikh and Yogendra Singh Karki took one wicket each.

In reply, Police Club were restricted to 136 runs losing seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Dipendra Singh Airee was starred with the bat as he managed a half-century for the Police. He made 65 runs with the help of three fours and two sixes in 54 balls.

Likewise, Dilip Nath contributed 23 runs, Aarif Sheikh 12, and Anil Sah 10 runs while the rest of the batters could not hit double-digit runs. Gulshan Jha collected five runs, Rashid Khan made four runs, Opener Amit Shrestha made three runs and Yogendra Singh Karki made one run.

For the APF Club, Kishor Mahato grabbed three wickets while Abinash Bohara, Amar Rautela, and Deepak Bohara shared wickets apiece.

APF Club bagged a cash prize of Rs 500 thousand with this victory. Nepal Police Club, which came in the second position, received Rs 300 thousand.