Nepal Men

Nepal clinches thrilling victory over Malaysia in ACC Premier Cup opener

The Nepalese national team has registered a brilliant win in the first match of the ACC Premier Cup 2024. Nepal bagged a thrilling five-wicket win against Malaysia in the title-defending campaign.

Chasing a target of 144 runs, the Nepalese openers had a slow start with both Kushal Bhurtel (24) and Aasif Sheikh (32) walking back after a slow knock. Kushal Malla then walked back cheaply for seven runs.

Nepal were in trouble when they lost both Rohit Paudel and Dipendra Singh Airee in the 17th over. Rohit scored 28 runs whilst DS Airee notched up 11-ball 20. It was Gulshan Jha who changed the game for Nepal with his seven-ball 19 that included two sixes. Sundeep Jora also made 12*. They completed a chase in 19.2 overs, losing five wickets.

For Malaysia, Virandeep Singh picked up three wickets. Pawandeep Singh and Waqif Irfan also grabbed one wicket each.

Earlier in the first innings, The Nepalese national cricket team restricted Malaysia to an average score. Malaysia managed to post 143/3 after opting to bat first at Al Amerat, Oman.

Nepal picked up one wicket in the powerplay with Dipendra Singh Airee ending Amar Azim’s slow knock of 18-ball 16. Virandeep Singh and Sharvin Muyandy then shared 82 runs for the second wicket to uplift the Malaysian innings. Virandeep remained unbeaten till the last and scored unbeaten 72 runs. He hammered four sixes and four boundaries in a 57-ball knock. Sharvin Muyandy contributed 41 runs from 33 balls.

For Nepal, Dipendra Singh Airee was the pick of a bowler. He picked up two wickets conceding 14 runs (4-0-14-2). Abinash Bohara also grabbed one wicket.

The winner of the ten-team tournament will qualify for the Asia Cup. Nepal is the defending champions of the ACC Premier Cup having won the previous title.