National, Nepal Women

Nepal enters Semis; defeats Malaysia by 7 wickets

Cricnepal/Kathmandu – Nepal continuous its winning streak in the ACC Women’s Championship Tournament defeating Malaysia by 7 wickets today at RCGC, Thailand.

Malaysian Women won the toss and opted to bat first in a sunny day. Like the previous matches, Nepal bowlers once again, restricted the opposition to a modest target. Malaysian batters couldn’t gave a good start, the first wicket failed for 4 runs. Except the innings off 21 runs (60 balls, 1 four) from the  opener Emylia Rahim, none-other batters scored in double digits. Rewina Mohammad (8), Arina Rahim (6) & Hasliza Hamzah (6) contributed to the innings total of 65 runs including 18 extras (14 wides, 2 legbyes, 2 byes).

Skipper Rubin Chhetry & Sarita Magar took  two wickets each while Karuna Bhandari & Neera Rajopadhyay shared a wicket piece.

Nepali openers Madhu Thapa and Sita Magar gave a good start during the chase. They shared a 30 runs opening stand before Madhu Thapa lost her wicket for 16 runs (19 balls, 2 fours). Next batswoman Roshani Bohara didn’t stay for long as she was bowled by Nur Syazwina for 1 run (6 balls). At 46/2 , Nepal lost opener Sita Magar for 10 runs and the 4th wicket partnership between Sarita Magar 9* (14 balls) and Nary Thapa 10* (5 balls) chased down the target in just 11.3 overs. Malaysian bowlers contributed 18 extras.

Sarita Magar was adjudged Player of the Match. After the win today, Nepali Women’s team are at the top of the Group A table with 6 points and enters the semifinal. Nepal will face Hongkong tomorrow at Prem Oval in it’s last group match.

Previously, Nepal defeated Bhutan by 8 wickets, then defeated UAE by 86 runs.

Nepal Women
Batsman Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s S/R
Madhu Thapa c Julia Rosli b Winifred Duraisingam 16 19 21 2 0 84.21
Sita Magar c Emylia Rahim b Jannadiah Halim 10 27 44 0 0 37.04
Roshani Bohara b Nur Syazwina 1 6 6 0 0 16.67
Sarita Magar not out 9 14 25 1 0 64.29
Nary Thapa not out 10 5 8 0 1 200.00
Karuna Bhandari
Mamta Thapa+
Neera Rajopadhyay
Rubina Chhetry*
Shilu Rijal
Sonu Khadka
Extras 2nb 14w 2lb 0b 0pen 18
Total 64 for 3