In Focus, National

Nepal Premier League(NPL) Finally Gets Its Shape

Ncell Nepal Premier League

Cricnepal/Kathmandu: Zohra Sports Management(ZSM) and Cricket Association of Nepal(CAN) are all set to start Nepal Premier league(NPL) from April to May, 2014.  At a press conference held in Hotel Radisson this afternoon both parties agreed to introduce the tournament for three years.

“Nepal Premier League was long due in Nepal, but we are introducing it in the best timing as Nepal has recently qualified for the first ever ICC T20 World Cup in Bangladesh”, said one of the organizer.

The Ncell sponsored tournament includes  six teams and will be played under T20, 50 overs and a two day format. All the formats will be played in round-robin league from the groups.

The first edition will be held in four different places including Dhangadi,Biratnagar,Rajbiraj and Kathmandu. Dhangadi will host the two day tournament whereas the 50 over games will be played in Biratnagar and Rajbiraj. This years NPL will conclude with a T20 tournament to be hosted by Kathmandu. However, the dates of the tournament is yet to be fixed by the organizers. As per the information provided in the programme, the first edition of the NPL will have six teams with 16 member  each consisting of current national cricketers, U19 Cricketers, Regional cricketers and two Overseas cricketers along with domestic coaches. There will be a provision to buy two foreign players for each as per the interest of the team  management.

Speaking at the function, Coach Pubudu Dassanayeke suggested that this was the right time to push domestic cricket forward and  Nepal premier league  has come at the right time.


” It was my dream to see a structured domestic cricket having longer version of the game so that every local cricketer would get a proper platform to show off their talent. I am looking forward to this tournament and wish it to be successful” said National Coach Mr. Pubudu Dassanayke.

Meanwhile,CAN president Tanka Angbuhang was delighted having implemented this much awaited concept in coordination with Zohra Sports Management.” On Behalf of CAN, I would like to thank Ncell and all stakeholders for promoting this event” he added.

Below are the six teams:

Team Owned By Captain
Tej Panchakanya Group Sharad Veshwakar
Colors X Factors Teletalk Pvt Ltd Gyanendra Malla
Vishal Group Warriors Vishal Group Parash Khadka
Kantipur Gurkhas Kantipur Publications Basanta Regmi
Jagdamba Giants Shanker Group Shakti Gauchan
Sagarmatha Legends Ghorahi Cement Binod Bhandari

While, Cricket players involved with different teams in the Ncell NPL will also be provided with match fees. According to the organisers, match fees are categorized as-
•Rs 5000 per match to the Captain of each team.
•Rs 2500 per match to the Star Cricketers (players who have/had been in the national team).
•Rs 1000 per match to U-19/Regional cricketers.

Apart from match fees, players shall also earn from individual or group endorsement fees if their owning companies want to.

Prize Money under Ncell NPL includes
• T20 Tournament: Winner Rs 200,000. Runner up Rs 100,000
• 50 Overs Tournament: Winner Rs 200,000. Runner up Rs 100,000
• Two-Day Format: Winner Rs 150,000, Runner up Rs 75,000