ACC Premier Cup, Nepal Men

Nepal reveal the squad for ACC Premier Cup

Nepal Men

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced the squad for ACC Men’s Premier Cup on Sunday. The tournament, set to start on April 18, is the gateway to the Asia Cup, as the winner will book a spot in the upcoming edition.

Seven players are left out (four reserves) from the preliminary squad announced on March 29. The team is the same as the last series of the CWC League 2. Dev Khanal couldn’t cement his place in the team despite being called into the preliminary squad. Surya Tamang has replaced Shyam Dhakal in the list of reserves. Kishore Mahato is also enlisted in the reserve list.

The hosts Nepal have been placed in Group ‘A’ with OmanQatar, Malaysia, and Saudi Arabia. Meanwhile, Group ‘B’ will consist of United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Singapore, and Bahrain. The matches will be held at TU International Cricket Ground and Mulpani Cricket Ground.

The tournament will commence on April 18, with Nepal taking on Malaysia at TU Cricket Ground. The home side will play a single game at Mulpani Cricket Ground against Saudi Arabia on 24th April. Nepal will face Oman and Qatar on the 21st and 27th of April respectively.

The winning team of the tournament will join India and Pakistan in Group A of the Asia Cup 2023, which will take place in September. Furthermore, the top three teams of the Premier Cup will also get the opportunity to feature in the ACC Emerging Cup in July.

Nepal’s Squad: Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Gyanendra Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Aarif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC

Surya Tamang, Kishore Mahato, Sundeep Jora, Arjun Saud