ICC World Cup, Nepal Men

Nepal set for a clash against the Netherlands in T20 World Cup 2024 opener

Nepal is set to face the Netherlands in the first game of the T20 World Cup 2024. This game marks Nepal’s return to the World Cup after 3729 days, with their last match being against Afghanistan in 2014.

Nepal will be aiming for a victory against another associate member, the Netherlands. The Dutch team is a familiar opponent for Nepal in T20Is, with the two teams having faced each other 12 times already.

Nepal is placed in Group D alongside the Netherlands and three Test-playing nations – South Africa, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super Eight, and from there, the top four teams will secure spots in the semifinals.

Nepal is playing the T20 World Cup second time having previously played in 2014. Nepal defeated UAE in the home ground in the qualifying tournament to confirm their place in the mega event after ten long years.

Nepal vs Netherlands – Details

Match Date: June 4 (Tuesday)
Venue: Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas
Time: 9:15 PM (NST)
Live coverage: Star Sports (Television) and ICC TV (Website or App)
Live update: Cricnepal.com

Head to head

Match played – 12
Nepal won – 5
Netherlands won – 6
No result – 1
Last 4 matches – 2 each won by Nepal and Netherlands

What to expect?

We can anticipate an exciting match at Grand Prairie Stadium. Numerous Nepalese supporters are expected to show up in Dallas to cheer for the team, boosting their morale. The team has also been in the US for some time, ensuring solid preparation.

Similarly, the Netherlands has been performing well in ICC events. They are coming in with high confidence after defeating Sri Lanka in a warm-up match.

Weather forecast

As per Google’s report, There’s just a 10% chance of rain around Dallas. The average temperature will be 33°C with a humidity of  68%

Nepal squad:

Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Anil Kumar Sah, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Rajbanshi, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Pratis GC, Sundeep Jora, Abinash Bohara, Sagar Dhakal, Kamal Singh Airee

Netherlands squad:

Scott Edwards (c), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Ryan Klein, Saqib Zulfiqar, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, ⁠⁠Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh, Viv Kingma, Wesley Barresi. Travelling reserve: Ryan Klein

Nepal’s schedule:

vs Netherlands – June 4

vs Sri Lanka – June 12

vs South Africa – June 15

vs Bangladesh – June 17