Asia Cup 2023, International, Nepal Men

Nepal suffers a 10-wicket loss against India in a rain-halted clash


Nepal has suffered a defeat against India in the first-ever ODI match against them. Nepal faced a 10-wicket defeat in a rain halted match at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Initially, India had to chase a target of 231 runs, but continuous rain interruptions led to the match being reduced to a 23-over contest, with a revised target of 145 runs.

India chased the target in 20.1 overs without losing a wicket. Rohit Sharma scored 59-ball 74 runs with six fours and five sixes. Similarly, Shubman Gill scored 67 runs from 62 balls with eight fours and one six.

Nepal finishes their maiden Asia Cup campaign without a point. They faced a 238-run defeat against Pakistan in the first match.

Earlier, Invited to bat first at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Nepal managed 230 runs before being bowled out in 48.2 overs

Nepal’s Sompal Kami and Dipendra Singh Airee cheer each others during the Asia Cup cricket match between India and Nepal in Pallekele, Sri Lanka on Monday, Sep. 4. (AP Photo/Eranga Jayawardena)

Nepal started brilliantly with openers, adding 65 runs in the first 10 overs. Kushal Bhurtel walked back for 38 runs (from 25 balls), just one ball before the first powerplay. The following batters couldn’t do special as Bhim Sharki (7), Rohit Paudel (5), and Kushal Malla (2) walked back cheaply – being dismissed by Ravindra Jadeja.

Nepal were down to 101 for 4 after the brilliant opening partnership. Aasif Sheikh scored a steady and composed half-century to set a foundation for the team. He scored 58 from 97 with eight boundaries. Gulshan Jha assisted 23 runs before being dismissed as Nepal were 144/6 in the 32nd over.

Sompal Kami and Dipendra Singh Airee then added 50 runs for the seventh wicket to boost Nepal’s inning. Airee made 25-ball 29 runs whilst Sompal Kami scored 48 runs with one four and two biggies.

Nepal could add only two runs after the dismissal of Sompal Kami. Lamichhane was ran out for nine runs whilst Rajbanshi faced a duck.

Mohammad Siraj and Ravindra Jadeja picked up three wickets each for India. Shardul Thakur also grabbed one.