Nepal Men

Defending champions Nepal to take on Malaysia in Premier Cup

Nepal has suffered just one defeat to Malaysia in T20I matches out of nine encounters.

Rohit Paudel with ACC Premier Cup 2023 trophy. Photo: CAN

Nepal’s bid to defend their title in the ACC Premier Cup commences tomorrow, April 12, as they take on Malaysia on the tournament’s opening day. The ACC Premier Cup, serving as the qualifier for the Asia Cup, kicks off on the same day in Oman.

Nepal has suffered just one defeat to Malaysia in T20I matches out of nine encounters. They emerged victorious in eight of those clashes. Malaysia secured a win against Nepal in February 2020, but since then, Nepal has triumphed in five matches against them.

The match starts at 4:15 PM (NST) and will be played at Al Amerat Cricket Ground  (Ministry Turf 1), Oman.

The ACC Premier Cup 2024, now in its second edition, functions as the qualifying event for the Asia Cup 2025. The victorious team among the 10 competing teams in the tournament will earn qualification for the Asia Cup. Nepal hosted the first edition and won it to qualify for the Asia Cup. They defeated UAE on the reserve day of the final at TU Cricket Ground.

Nepal Win
Team Nepal with the winning ACC Men’s Premier Cup trophy during the Final of the ACC Men’s Premier Cup 2023 between Nepal and United Arab Emirates held at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground in Kathmandu on the 2nd May 2023
Photo by: Anshuman Akash / Creimas / Asian Cricket Council

Nepal’s fixture in the tournament;

  • April 12 vs Malaysia
  • April 13 vs Qatar
  • April 15 vs Hong Kong
  • April 17 vs Saudi Arabia

Nepal’s Squad: Rohit Paudel(c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh (wk), Anil Sah, Kushal Malla, Sundeep Jora, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Bibek Yadav, Pratish GC, Karan KC, Sompal Kami, Abinash Bohara, Lalit Rajbanshi