National, Nepal Women

Nepal top group B

Nepal topped group B on Monday in the ACC Women´s Twenty20 Cricket Championship defeating Malaysia by 9 wickets at KOC, Hubara Kuwait, to continue their winning run in the group stage.

Nepal have already secured a place in semifinal.

Winning the toss, Malaysia scored 68 runs in 20 overs at the loss of 7 wickets. Nepal achieved the target in 14 overs, losing only one wicket, to bag a huge margin victory.

Rubina Chhetri´s tight bowling helped Nepal to restrict Kuwait for a low total. Chhetri took three wickets conceding only seven runs in her four-over spell that also included a maiden. She was named player-of-the-match. Karuna Bhandari claimed two wickets conceding 11 runs in four overs and Sarita Magar claimed one wicket. E Emylia was the top scorer for Malaysia with 33 runs off 63 balls.

Nepal replaced opener Rashmi Sharma in the match against Malaysia as she could not perform as expected in the previous matches. Sharma was replaced by Neera Rajopadhyay, who, along with Sita Magar as the opening pair, produced 47 runs partnership for the first wicket.

Rajopadhyay scored 18 off 23 balls with two boundaries.

Magar and Sharma were unbeaten in the crease with 21 runs off 48 balls and 13 runs off 15 balls respectively. Rosmawati Zamahuri of Malaysia took the only wicket of the Nepali side.

This is Nepal´s fourth win in four league matches played so far. Nepal will now meet the Group A runners-up in the semifinal on Thursday at Hubara.