Featured, Nepal U16

Nepal U16 team win ACC U16 East Zone Cup 

Nepal U16 Team have clinched the title of ACC Men’s U16 East Zone Cup title. Nepal defeated Malaysia U16 by tremendous 221 runs in the final match to bag the trophy.

Naren Bhatta and Captain Abhishek Tiwari were the stars of the final with a sensational century and fifer. Nepal were the winner of the ACC U16 Cup in 2017 and 2019 too.

Nepal wrapped up Malaysia for a mere 31 in 14.5 overs, winning by 221 runs. Only Muhammad Akram (10) managed a double-digit score for Malaysia. Captain, Abhishek Tiwari picked up a five-wicket haul (6-1-7-5). Santosh Yadav bagged three, while Santosh Gaire and Ashok Dhami pocketed one each.

Earlier, Nepal posted a humungous total of 252/8 in the allotted 35 overs. Openers Niraj Kumar Yadav and Suryanshu Koirala started well, adding 41 runs. Koirala scored 18, whereas Yadav made decent 47 runs.

Nepal were four down for 112 in the 19th over. Naren Bhatta then took charge and turned the game in their favour with a special century. He and Santosh Yadav shared 104 runs for the fifth wicket, with Santosh contributing 26 runs.

Naren completed his ton in 82 balls and remained unbeaten till the end. He scored 112* from 89 balls with ten fours and two sixes.

For Malaysia, Muhammad Akram picked up three wickets. The other three bowlers grabbed one wicket each.

Nepal emerged as the group leader after defeating Thailand and Malaysia in the group stage. They continued their dominant form in the semifinal by thoroughly defeating Singapore, securing their place in the final.