International, News, Opinion

Nepal vs UAE: Cricnepal’s team of the series

United Arab Emirates (UAE)’s Nepal tour concluded on Friday, with Nepal winning the decisive match and clinching the series 2-1. The home side came back strong after losing the first match to bag their first ODI series win at the home ground. Nepal grabbed their first-ever ODI series back in 2018 against UAE itself.

Rohit was pleased to lead his side to a series win in a debut captaincy series. And also believe that the team had good preparation ahead of the vital Namibia series. Meanwhile, UAE skipper CP Rizwan said the UAE side enjoyed playing in front of a passionate crowd and learned a good lesson about the conditions.

After analysing the recently concluded series, Cricnepal prepared the best mutual XI.

1. Aasif Sheikh (WK)

Despite having a poor start, Aasif Sheikh finished as the tournament’s leading run-scorer after scoring an unbeaten 88 in the series-deciding match. The wicketkeeper-batsman scored 106 runs from three matches with an average of 53.00. 14 boundaries scored by him was the highest in the series.

Aasif Sheikh finished as the leading run-scorer of the series.

2. Muhammad Waseem 

The Aasif-Waseem duo are the openers of Cricnepal’s ideal team. Waseem piled up 105 runs throughout the series with an average of 35.00 and a whopping strike rate of 110.52. The 28 years old was phenomenal in the powerplay. He smashed six biggies from three matches; an equal number of sixes were scored by the entire Nepalese batters throughout the series.

3. Gyanendra Malla (C)

Gyanendra Malla takes the number three position scoring 90 runs from three matches. The 32 years old started the series with a duck, followed by 26 and 64 runs. Malla hammered 11 fours and three sixes and managed an average of 30.00.

Gyanendra Malla raises his bat after completing a fifty.

4. Rohan Mustafa

Rohan Mustafa knew the Nepali condition well and utilized it properly. The allrounder batted at no.4 throughout the series and scored 81 runs with one half-century. Moreover, He grabbed four wickets with an economy of 3.37 and an average of 21.25.

5. Alishan Sharafu

Alishan Sharafu did a brilliant job for the touring side in the middle overs. The 19 years old scored 97 runs, the tournament’s third highest, with an average of 32.33. The young man played slowly, but his scores of 29, 35, and 33 were crucial for UAE in the middle order.

6. Dipendra Singh Airee

Despite starting the series with a half-century, Dipendra Singh Airee had an awkward finish to the series. Scoring 13 in the second match, Airee faced a diamond duck in the final match. Apart from scoring 67 runs, Airee was very handy with a ball too. The off-break bowler took four scalps with an economy of 2.92 and a decent average of 18.25. Airee batted at 6 in the first two matches and no. 5 in the final match.

7. Aayan Khan

Aayan Khan was adjudged as player of the series in his debut ODI series. The youngster was terrific with both bat and ball. Khan received a man of the match award in the debut match and also shared 83 runs stand for the last wicket in the decisive match, scoring his maiden ODI fifty. The 16 years old not only picked up five wickets with a magnificent economy of 2.46 and an average of 14.80 but also scored 82 runs throughout the series.

Aayan Khan was adjudged as player of the series.

8. Gulshan Jha

Gulshan Jha picked up five wickets from three matches with a strike rate of 21.6, the tournament’s best. Along with superb bowling powerplays, he also scored significant runs toward the end of the innings. He was Nepal’s standout payer in the must-win matches. He piled up 56 runs from two innings.

9. Sompal Kami

Sompal Kami also picked up five wickets from three matches, the joint highest of the series, along with Gulshan Jha and Aayan Khan. Despite having a bit expensive economy rate of 5.36, Sompal’s strike rate was 31.6. He also contributed 19 runs with an average of 19.00.


10. Lalit Rajbanshi

After a long injury, Lalit Rajbanshi had a good comeback series for the national side. The left-arm orthodox player picked up four wickets with a good economy rate of 3.23. Only he and Aayan Khan bowled full Ten over spells in all three matches.

Lalit Rajbanshi celebrates a wicket with his teammates.

11. Hazrat Bilal

Despite having an average series, Hazrat Bilal secures his spot as a third pacer. The 34 years old, playing his debut series, picked up three wickets and scored 21 runs from three matches. The speedster grabbed three wickets after being wicketless in the first match.

Six Nepalese players and five UAE players featured in Cricnepal’s ideal team of the series led by Gyanendra Malla. 

Final Team: Aasif Sheikh (wk), Muhammad Waseem, Gyanendra Malla (c), Rohan Mustafa, Alishan Sharafu, Dipendra Singh Airee, Aayan Khan, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Lalit Rajbanshi, Hazrat Bilal