Nepal Women, News

Nepal Women win the series against Malaysia Women

Nepal’s national women’s cricket team has defeated the Malaysian national women’s cricket team in the decisive match to clinch the series. Nepal won by three wickets in a thrilling encounter to win the five-match T20I series 3-2.

Chasing a target of 110 runs, Nepal were down to 34/3 in the sixth over. Sita Rana Magar scored the highest 34 runs knock, while skipper Rubina Chhetri scored 23. It was Apsari Begam who turned the match in Nepal’s favour with a crucial 13-ball 15. Jyoti Pandey ended things with a boundary and remained unbeaten for 14*. Nepal got to the target with four balls spare after an eventful penultimate over.

For Malaysia, Ainna Hamizah Hashim picked up two wickets, while the other four bowlers grabbed one wicket each.

Earlier, Malaysia Women posted 109/5 in the allotted 20 overs after being invited to bat first. Opener Wan Julia Wan Mohd Rosdi top scored with 47 runs, while her opening partner Winifred Anne Duraisingam added 25-ball 24 runs. Mahirah Izzati Ismail also contributed 20 runs for the home side.

Kabita Joshi was the pick of a bowler for Nepal, grabbing a couple of wickets (4-0-12-2). Ishwori Bist picked up one while the other two dismissals were run out.

Malaysia secured their first-ever victory against Nepal to start the series. The visiting team made a comeback and took the lead with a 2-1 advantage, winning two consecutive matches, while Malaysia levelled the series 2-2 on Saturday with a thrilling win.