Nepal Men

Nepal’s winning streak at TU Cricket Ground comes to an end

Nepal national cricket team’s ODI winning run at Tribhuwan University (TU) International Cricket Ground has ended at 15 matches after a defeat against Namibia on Thursday. Nepal suffered a four-wicket defeat in the opening match of CWC League 2 2023-2027, concluding their sensational winning streak at the venue.

Nepal’s previous loss at TU Cricket Ground occurred on November 11, 2022, against the UAE. Following that defeat, they went on an impressive winning streak, securing victories in 15 consecutive matches at the venue. During this period, Nepal triumphed over UAE five times, Canada three times, and recorded victories against Namibia, Scotland, and PNG twice each, along with a win over Oman.

Significantly, this is the inaugural loss at TU Cricket Ground since the appointment of head coach Monty Desai. Nepal had previously clinched victory in 13 consecutive matches at the venue under his guidance.

Nepal’s achievement of 15 consecutive wins at the TU Cricket Ground sets a new record for a team at the specific venue. The previous record was held by West Indies, who had secured 13 consecutive wins at St. Vincent between 1994-2004.

Nepal will face the Netherlands in the second match of the Tri-Series on February 17 (Saturday).