Netherlands announce squad for Bajaj Pulsar Tri-Nations T20I series

The Netherlands on Wednesday named their T20 squad for the upcoming Bajaj Pulsar Tri-Nations T20I Series to be played between April 17 and 24 in Kathmandu.

Pieter Seelaar will lead the Dutch side to face Malaysia and the host Nepal. Each team plays the other twice before the final. All the matches will be played at Tribhuvan University Ground in Kathmandu.

Ryan Campbell, the Dutch coach, and Seelaar have announced a 14-member squad: Pieter Seelaar (C), Tobias Visée, Ben Cooper, Max O’Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikramjit Singh, Scott Edwards (WK), Aryan Dutt, Philippe Boissevain, Paul van Meekeren, Vivian Kingma, Tonny Staal, Sebastiaan Braat, and Julian de Mey.

Seelaar, 33, has led his side in 15 wins and 13 losses in 30 matches since 2018. He is also their second-best T20 Captain for Dutch after Peter Borren.

Seelaar has played 69 T20I games and scored 464 runs and taken 53 wickets from his slow left-arm orthodox bowling.

Tobias Visée is a dangerous batter at the top, with a strike rate of 151 from his 27 T20I matches, and scored 478 runs including three fifties.

Ben Cooper, the left-handed opener, has played 51 matches and piled up 1094 runs with seven fifties with a strike rate of 123.

Max O’Dowd is a top-order batsman and has played 36 matches and scored 866 runs, including six fifties with a strike rate of 121.

The Dutch last played against Nepal, back on October 7, 2019, in the Oman Pentagular T20I series and lost by four wickets. Overall, they have played six T20I matches and won three games, lost two and one match produced no result.

This series will also go in the record books for Netherlands’ first ever twenty20 Internationals against the Malaysian team.

Here’s a brief summary of the Netherlands squad:

Strike rates of the Netherlands Batsmen in T20Is

Pieter Seelaar (69 Mat) – 109.69
Tobias Visée (27 Mat) – 151.26
Ben Cooper (51 Mat) – 122.92
Max O’Dowd (36 Mat) – 120.61
Bas de Leede (8 Mat) – 85.96
Vikramjit Singh (1 Mat)- 115.38
Scott Edwards (29 Mat) – 145.85
Aryan Dutt – N/A
Philippe Boissevain (4 Mat) – 100.00
Paul van Meekeren (41 Mat) – 97.50
Vivian Kingma (4 Mat) – 20.00
Tonny Staal – N/A
Sebastiaan Braat (3 Mat) – 85.71
Julian de Mey – N/A

The Netherlands cricket team, currently sits in the 17th spot in the ICC’s T2OI team rankings on 4,618 points, with Nepal 15th on 4,148 points. Malaysia is sitting at the 32nd position with 2,557 points.

Nischal Tiwari
Nischal Tiwari
Nischal Tiwari is the Editor of He writes cricketing stories and news, based in Oklahoma, US, and tweets at @ni5chaltiwari.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -