PM Cup 2024: Cricnepal’s team of the tournament

Prime Minister (PM) Cup Men’s National Tournament concluded on February 3 (Saturday). Nepal Police Club emerged victorious in the final against Tribhuwan Army Club, securing their record third title in the competition.

Surya Tamang from Bagmati Province was named both the Player of the Tournament and the Best Bowler. The title of Best Batter went to Anil Sah from Madhesh Province, while Ashutosh Ghiraiya from Bagmati Province was recognized as the Emerging Player of the Tournament.

After thoroughly analyzing the statistics and considering various scenarios, the Cricnepal team has settled on the ideal XI for the PM Cup 2024.

Cricnepal’s team of the tournament:

Ashutosh Ghiraiya – Bagmati Province

Matches – 9, Runs – 382, Average – 42.44, HS – 118

Ghiraiya was brilliant throughout the tournament. He scored 382 runs (second highest) and was adjudged emerging player of the tournament. The opening batter scored 45 fours, which is the highest in the tournament. He scored one century and two fifties during the tournament.

Anil Sah (wk) – Madhesh Province

Matches – 9, Runs – 386, Average – 42.88, HS – 127

Anil Sah emerged as the top run-scorer and was honoured as the best batter of the tournament. His highest score of 127 contributed significantly to his overall performance. The wicketkeeper recorded one century and also two half-centuries during the competition.

Pawan Sarraf – Madhesh Province

Matches – 9, Runs – 329, Average – 41.12, HS – 70, Wickets – 5

Pawan Sarraf registered three half-centuries, amassing a total of 329 runs. His exceptional performance included hitting the highest number of sixes among all batters, with a remarkable count of 18. Additionally, he took five wickets and grabbed 11 catches.

Rohit Paudel – APF Club

Matches – 9, Runs – 273, Average – 30.33, HS – 80, Wickets – 14

Rohit Paudel achieved four half-centuries, accumulating a total of 273 runs. Surprisingly, he also made a significant impact with the ball, taking an impressive 14 wickets. Despite his individual contributions, his team finished in fifth place and missed out on the elite trophy.

Binod Bhandari – Tribhuwan Army Club

Matches – 10, Runs – 351, Average – 50.14, HS – 113

Bhandari stood out as the sole batter to achieve two centuries in the tournament. He also completed 1000 runs in the PM Cup history. However, his team faced a setback against Police Club in the final.

Kiran Thagunna – Sudurpaschim Province

Matches – 9, Runs – 284, Average – 35.50, HS – 68, SR – 103.64

Thagunna emerged as the standout batter for Sudurpaschim, securing three fifties and accumulating a total of 284 runs. Notably, he showcased an exciting aspect of his performance by maintaining a decent strike rate of 103.64.

Dipendra Singh Airee (c) – Nepal Police Club

Matches – 9, Runs – 165, Average – 33.00, SR – 136.36 Wickets – 15 

Airee played a pivotal role in guiding his team to the title, displaying commendable all-round performance. He took seven wickets, achieving the best-ever bowling figures in the tournament’s history. Despite batting in only six innings, he made significant contributions with vital runs down the order.

Sompal Kami – Tribhuwan Army Club

Matches – 10, Wickets – 19, Best figure – 4/12, Bowling Average – 12.21, Runs – 102

Sompal Kami emerged as the top wicket-taker among pacers, securing a total of 19 wickets. Additionally, he showcased excellent batting performances in the latter half of the tournament.

Rashid Khan – Nepal Police Club

Matches – 9, Wickets – 14, Best figure – 5/25, Runs – 146, HS – 106*

Rashid Khan achieved the distinction of being the first batter to score a century in the tournament. Remarkably, he is the sole player to accomplish the feat of scoring a century and taking a fifer during the competition. While he displayed brilliance, his performance dipped in the last three matches.

Bipin Khatri – Gandaki Province

Matches – 9, Wickets – 20, Best figure – 6/4, Bowling average – 11.85, Economy – 2.82, Runs – 92

Khatri ended up as the most economical bowler of the tournament. He took 20 wickets and was consistent throughout the tournament. He bowled a record 25 maiden overs in the tournament. In addition to his bowling prowess, the left-arm spinner has the ability to contribute with the bat down the order.

Surya Tamang – Bagmati Province

Matches – 9, Wickets – 30, Best figure – 6/18, Bowling average – 8.20, Economy, 3.05

Surya Tamnag had an outstanding tournament and ended as the highest wicket-taker, claiming 30 wickets in just nine matches, including two instances of six-wicket hauls (three five-wicket hauls). Remarkably, he did not go wicketless in any match throughout the tournament.

Opening Batters –  Asutosh Ghiraiya and Anil Sah(wk)
Top Order – Pawan Sarraf (off break), Rohit Paudel and Binod Bhandari
Lower order – Kiran Thagunna and DS Airee (off break)
Pacers – Sompal Kami and Rashid Khan
Spinners – Surya Tamang and Bipin Khatri


Sher Malla (Sudurpaschim) – 24 wickets
Mayan Yadav (Madhesh) – 287 runs
Lalit Rajbanshi (Police) – 23 wickets
Kushal Malla (Army) – 246 runs and 15 wickets

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -