PM Cup T20 Semifinal: Aasif Sheikh, Lokesh Bam drives APF Club to Final


Armed Police Force Club has entered the final of the Prime Minister’s Cup T-20 National Cricket Tournament with a comprehensive 47 runs win over arch-rival Tribhuvan Army Club at T.U. cricket ground in Kirtipur on Tuesday.

Army Club managed only 183 runs, losing nine wickets in the allotted 20 overs while chasing a mammoth target of 231 set by AFP Club.

Rajesh Pulami contributed the highest 38 runs for the Army. He managed six and four fours off 21 balls. Bhim Sarki scored 35, Sumit Shrestha 24, Hari Chauhan 22, Shahab Alam 21 not out, and Vikram Sob 14 runs.

Sharad Bheswakar took three wickets, Abhinash Bohra and Bhuvan Karki took two wickets while Deepak Bohara and Kishore Mahato took one wicket each.

Earlier, APF, which had won the toss and elected to bat, added 230 runs for the loss of two wickets. Ashif Sheikh, the opener for APF, played a half-century innings. He contributed 84 runs off 43 balls with the help of five sixes and 10 fours. The openers registered a record-breaking 150-run partnership.

Similarly, Lokesh Bam’s dominance with the bat insulted more to the Army team. His 18-balls cameo, not only produced runs, it gave him the license to hit big sixes as well. His record-breaking fifty came in just 14 balls, the fastest in domestic t20, with two fours and seven sixes. He finished the innings, unbeaten on 66 off 18 balls, including 9 sixes. Meanwhile, opener Pradip Airee, who managed unbeaten 57 runs off 53 balls, remained unnoticed.

Army’s Jitendra Mukhiya and Sumit Shrestha took one wicket each.

The final game will be played by APF against Nepal Police Club. Police defeated Bagmati in the first semi-final match held today and made it to the final