PM Cup T20 Semifinal: Nepal Police enter final with 50 runs win over Bagmati Province

Pawan Sarraf

Nepal Police Club defeated Bagmati Province by 50 runs in the Prime Minister Cup T20 semi-final to earn a spot in the final.

Score Summary:
Nepal Police Club 155/5 (P. Sarraf 59, Nandan Yadav 2/27) defeated Bagmati Province 105/8 (Aadil Khan 27, Dipendra Singh Airee 5/10) by 50 runs.

Manjeet Shrestha-led side will face the winner of Nepal APF and Tribhuvan Army Club in the final on 19 January at Tribhuvan University Cricket ground in Kirtipur.

Bagmati Province were 50-1 at 8 over mark during the chase despite losing Ishan Pandey (1) early. Aadil Khan (27) and Captain Gyanendra Malla (23) steadied the innings with 43 runs partnership for the second wicket. However, Malla’s dismissal brought the downfall for Bagmati as they lost another six wickets for just 19 runs.

At 13.4 overs, Bagmati were restricted to 69-8 and Number 9 and 10 batters put up a fight to take their team to a respectable total (105-8) at the end of 20 overs. Rijal Dhakal and Ramnaresh Giri contributed unbeaten 15 and 17 runs respectively. The duo shared 36 runs partnership including five boundaries, however, they were 50 runs short of the target by the end of the innings.

Dipendra Singh Airee was the star with the ball for Police as he clinched five wickets for just 10 runs in his four overs. Sagar Dhakal managed two wickets from his four overs as well.

Earlier, Nepal Police Club posted 155 for the loss of 5 wickets after winning the toss. Opener Pawan Sarraf managed a crucial half-century, his first in this year’s tournament. Police Club missed the service of the in-form regular opener, Kushal Bhurtel, as he was unfit to play today.

Sarraf played a knock of 59 runs in 54 balls, including three fours and three sixes. Shankar Rana contributed 8 from 12 balls while Dipendra Singh Airee didn’t trouble the scoreboard. Anil Sah played a useful knock of run-a-ball 25, including one four. Aarif Sheikh managed a six in his innings of 12 from 9 balls. Wicket-keeper batsman Dilip Nath lifted the team’s total to 155, hitting 16 balls 31 runs with two fours and two sixes.

For Bagmati, Nandan Yadav picked up two wickets (4-0-27-2) and Rijal Dhakal grabbed two wickets.