Prithu to lead Nepal U19 in Ireland

Prithu Baskota will lead the U19 Nepali team for the upcoming ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers to be held from July 28 to August 9 in Ireland.

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) today announced 18-member squad for the upcoming ICC Event. Other players named in the squad are Sagar Pun, Bhuwan Karki, Naresh Budhayer, Failzur Rahman Khan, Rajesh Pulami, Subash Khakurel, Rahul Biswakarma, Avinash Karn, Krishna Karki and Pradeep Airee.

Top six teams from the 10-team round-robin league event will qualify for the Youth World Cup. Other participating teams are Afghanistan, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, USA and Vanuatu.

CAN selected seven new cricketers Jitendra Mukhiya, Subendu Pandey, Amit Dahal, Amrit Shrestha, Amit Shrestha, Rupesh Srivastav and Nischal Pandey.

“Bibek Dali, Rahul Pratap Singh and Shiva Tandukar are left out because of lack of form”, chief selector Bijaya Sharma said.

Jagat Tamata is named as the coach.