Scotland unveil a squad to play against Nepal and Namibia with Berrington as a new captain

Scotland Cricket Team

Cricket Scotland has announced the squad to face Nepal and Namibia on Monday with Richie Berrington as a new captain. Berrington takes over the legendary and long-serving Kyle Coetzer as captain, and he will be assisted by new vice-captain Matthew Cross.

The men’s coaching staff made the decision based on the players’ leadership abilities, behaviour, strategy, and values, in collaboration with senior players and Cricket Scotland’s interim head of performance.

Richie Berrington said: “I feel incredibly honoured and privileged to lead this team and represent my country. Having come through the Scottish system from a young age, I’m very proud to take on the role of men’s captain.

Scotland is currently in the second position on the CWC League 2 table with 28 points from 20 matches, 16 points behind Oman with 16 fewer matches played. Namibia and Nepal on the other hand are second and third from the bottom with 14 and 16 points respectively.

Scotland’s squad:

Richie Berrington (c), Matthew Cross (wk) (VC), Kyle Coetzer, Calum Macleod, George Munsey, Dylan Budge, Mark Watt, Safyaan Sharif, Michael Leask, Gavin Main, Adrian Neill, Hamza Tahir, Chris Sole, Chris McBride

Apart from Chris McBride, Adrian Neill, Gavin Main, and Chris Sole all players were in Scotland’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2021 held in UAE.

Fixtures Schedule

  • 10th July – Scotland vs Namibia (Titwood)
  • 11th July – Namibia vs Nepal (New Cambusdoon)
  • 13th July – Scotland vs Nepal (Titwood)
  • 14th July – Scotland vs Namibia (Titwood)
  • 16th July – Namibia vs Nepal (New Cambusdoon)
  • 17th July – Scotland vs Nepal (Titwood)