Shakti and Pradeep guide Nepal to victory

Kathmandu/Cricnepal: With Shakti Gauchan taking a first international hat-trick for Nepal in any of the format and Pradeep Airee strucking a 43 balls 63 runs, Nepal defeated Denmark by 9 wickets in a second match of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers in UAE on Wednesday.

Winning the toss, Denmark invited Nepal on field. 4 wickets haul from Gauchan, 2 wickets from Prithu Baskota and a scalp each from Sanjam Regmi and Basanta Regmi made Denmark suffer in a position where they lost all 10 wickets in just 19.1 overs for 82 runs. Though having a flying start, Denmark could not continue the momentum.

Openers Freddie Klokker(27 ball-21) and Shehzad Ahmed(15 ball-11) shared a 20 runs partnership for first wicket. Another partnership of 21 runs between Klokker and Michael Pedersen(13 ball-13) put up Denmark to 41 for 2 in 7.1 overs. None other put a good effort for Denmark.

The thirteenth over proved to be a historic and valuable for Nepal as Gauchan picked wickets of Rizwan Mahmood, Aftab Ahmed and Kamran Mahmood to become the first Nepali player to take hat-trick in international match.

In reply Pradeep Airee and Sharad Vesawkar brought the win home in just 12.4 overs. To start, Paresh Lohani(3) went cheaply. Airee and Vesawkar shared 78 runs partnership both remaining unbeaten. Airee’s innings included seven fours and four sixes. Vesawkar played 28 balls.

Needed 12 runs to win, Airee hit two sixes, one in first ball and the other in fourth ball of the 13th over to secure the win for Nepal.

With today’s win, Nepal are in top of the group A.

Shakti Gauchan was adjudged as man of the match for his exceptional figure of 4-0-20-4.

In other matches of the day, Hong Kong defeated Bermuda by 8 wickets, Canada defeated P.N.G. by 6 runs and Afghanistan defeated Netherlands by 4 wickets in group A. While in group B, Ireland defeated Kenya by 10 wickets, Italy defeated U.S.A. by 8 runs, Namibia defeated Scotland by 49 runs and Uganda defeated Oman by 3 wickets.

Nepal will take on Papua New Guinea on Thursday at Sharjah Cricket Stadium.