South Africa qualify for the World Cup, Ireland to compete in the qualifiers

South Africa has qualified directly for the Cricket World Cup 2023, which is set to take place in India later this year. The Proteas secured their spot after the first One-Day International between Ireland and Bangladesh ended in a no-result after a rain washout.
Ireland needed to win all three matches in a series against Bangladesh, but now even if they win 2-0, they cannot overtake South Africa’s eighth place in the World Cup Super League standings. As a result, Ireland will have to participate in the qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe, along with former champions West Indies and Sri Lanka. Nepal are also competing in the tournament after finishing in the top three of CWC League 2.
The top eight finishers of the Cricket Super League, which has run over the last three years, were set to qualify for the 10-team World Cup. Reigning champions England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan and now South Africa have already secured their places in the Mega Event.
Meanwhile, Nepal, along with West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Ireland, Netherlands, UAE, USA, Scotland and Oman, will compete for the remaining two spots in the World Cup.