National, Nepal Women

Sudurpaschim and Province 1 to battle for Women’s PM Cup title

Sudurpaschim and Province number 1 are all set to battle in the final of the Women’s Prime Minister Cup T20 tournament. Sudurpaschim thrashed Madhes in the first semifinal, while Province 1 defeated the mighty APF club in the second semifinal.

Sudurpascim put on a humungous total of 180 runs after brilliant half-centuries from Kabita Kunwar (70 runs from 54 balls) and skipper Bindu Rawal (60 from 52 balls). In reply, Madhes were settled for 66 runs in the allotted 20 overs. Mamta Chaudhary and Ritu Kanoujiya picked up a couple of wickets each. Kabita Kunwar was adjudged as player of the match for her terrific inning.

In the second clash, Rubina Chettry’s province one outplayed APF to sail through to the final. APF were bowled out for a mere 45 runs, their worst performance ever. Only Sita Ranamagar could score a double-digit figure (10), whilst Sangita Rai and Alisha Khadiya pocketed three wickets each with a healthy economy. Province one chased the total in nine overs, losing two wickets with skipper Rubina scoring unbeaten 20 runs. Sangita Rai was adjudged as player of the match for her splendid bowling display.

This is the first time APF will not be featuring in the final of the National Women’s Cricket Tournament. Meanwhile, The gold medal-winning team of the ninth national games, the Nepal Police Club, was unable to participate in the tournament after missing out on certain documentation.