National, Nepal Women

Sudurpaschim Province and APF Club victorious on second day of Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup

Sudurpaschim Province and Armed Police Force (APF) Club bagged a win on the second day of the Lalitpur Mayor’s Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament 2024.

In the first game of the day, Sudurpaschim emerged victorious by 16 runs (DLS method) against Lalitpur Mayor’s XI. Invited to bat first, Sudurpaschim made 122/6 after the end of 20 overs. Bindu Rawal top scored with 30 runs whereas Kabita Joshi made 25 runs from 20 balls. Aarti Mahato and Kritika Marasini picked up two wickets each for the Mayor’s XI.

In response, Lalitpur Mayor’s XI were 45/2 after the end of the 11 overs when it started raining. The further play was not possible and Sudurpaschim were victorious by 16 runs (DLS method). Puja Mahato (14)* and Saraswati GM (11)* were in the middle. Ritu Kanoujiya and Janaki Thapa pocketed one wicket each for Sudurpaschim.

In Sunday’s second game, APF defeated Koshi Province by 24 runs. The match was shortened to five overs each after a rain halt. APF made 56/3 at the end of the allotted five overs after being asked to bat first. Indu Barma played an electrifying knock of 15-ball 38 with the help of five fours and two sixes.

May be an image of 1 person, playing tennis and text

In reply, Koshi could score only 32 runs after five overs. Apsari Begam who led the side in Rubina Chhetri’s absence made 25 runs but that was not enough with no other support. Indu Barma got the POTM award for her brilliant batting.

On Saturday’s opening game, Lalitpur Mayor’s XI registered an easy seven-wicket win.