Sudurpaschim’s upset victory knocks out star-studded Nepal Police Club

Sudurpashchim Province

In an unexpected turn of events during the ongoing KP Oli T20 Cup, the Nepal Police Club, boasting a lineup of star players, has been eliminated in the first round of the tournament. On Tuesday, Sudurpaschim Province caused a major upset, while Madesh Province advanced to the next round due to a superior Net Run Rate (NRR).

In Group C, Police, Sudurpaschim, and Madhesh each secured a victory, resulting in a balanced outcome. However, Madhesh claimed the top spot in the group, thanks to a superior Net Run Rate (NRR). For the first time, Police have been knocked out from the first round of the national tournament.

Electing to bat first, Nepal Police Club managed to post a score of 158/4. Kushal Bhurtel and Sunil Dhamala added 104 runs for the first wicket with Bhurtel being dismissed for 51-ball 67 in the 14th over. He smacked five sixes and an equal number of fours. Dhamala added 42 runs from 40 balls whilst Arjun Saud scored 20 runs from 17 balls.

In response, Sudurpaschim chased the target in 18.4 overs losing six wickets. They were five down for 46 in the eighth over but Kiran Thagunna and Naren Saud shared a match-winning 93-run partnership for the sixth wicket. Saud scored 39 runs from 30 balls whereas Thagunna notched up an unbeaten 34-ball 51 with four boundaries and two sixes. He was adjudged player of the match for a sensational half-century. Naran Joshi also scored not out 17 runs from seven balls.

For Police, Rashid Khan picked up three wickets whereas Sagar Dhakal and Sunil Dhamala grabbed one each.

Aarif Sheikh captained the Police Club in the absence of Dipendra Singh Airee. Star players like Kushal Bhurtel, Karan KC, and Lalit Rajbanshi were on the side along with players like Rashid Khan, Sagar Dhakal, Arjun Saud, and Sunil Dhamala who have already played for Nepal.