National, Nepal Women

Thailand thrashes Nepal by 7 wickets ; enters Final

Cricnepal/Kathmandu – Host Thailand thrashed Nepalese Women team by 7 wickets to enter the final of ACC Women’s Championship 2013 at Prem Oval in Chiang Mai today.

After an overnight thunder storm, the match was delayed for an hour. Thailand won the toss and invited Nepal for batting. Nepalese women had a good training session in the morning and were charged up for this match. But as the inning started, the wicket started tumbling from the first over.

Madhu Thapa went without troubling the scoreboard in the second ball of the match. Roshani Bohara (1) soon followed as Nepal lost their second wicket in third over. Sarita Magar played four balls and was bowled in the same over for a duck, leaving the middle order all sorts of trouble.

The scorecard of Nepal were like a telephone numbers – Nary Thapa 1, Rubina Chhetry 3, Neera Rajopadhyay 2, Trishna Singh 3, Karuna Bhandari 4, Sonu Khadka 3 & Mamta Thapa 3*. The highest score in the Nepal’s inning came from Thailand side as they gave away 11 extras.

Chanida Sutthiruang was pick of the bowlers taking five wickets. With her magical spell of 5-3-2-5, Nepal was bundled out for just for 38 runs in 20 overs. Nattakan Chantham, Nattaya Boochatham & Rattana Sangsoma shared wicket apiece.

In Reply, Thailand batting got some sort of trouble in the start as Rubina Chhetry took two early wickets. But they managed the early loss and won the game in 16 overs. Opener Pundarika Prathanmitr played a watchful inning of 18 runs (46 balls) and helped her team go through the final with a thumping 7 wickets win against the strong Nepal team.

The two teams have met four times before in ACC Women’s Championship matches and each side has won twice with Thailand winning the most recent match in Kuwait in 2011.

Nepal will now play the 3rd/4th play-off match tomorrow at Gymkhana before they return to home.

Nepal Scorecard
Batsman Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s S/r
Madhu Thapa c Pundarika Prathanmitr b Nattakan Chantham 0 2 2 0 0 0.00
Sita Magar c Pundarika Prathanmitr b Chanida Sutthiruang 7 19 34 1 0 36.84
Roshani Bohara c Sornnarin Tippoch b Chanida Sutthiruang 1 7 12 0 0 14.29
Sarita Magar c Pundarika Prathanmitr b Chanida Sutthiruang 0 4 2 0 0 0.00
Nary Thapa b Chanida Sutthiruang 1 7 7 0 0 14.29
Rubina Chhetry* b Nattaya Boochatham 3 18 22 0 0 16.67
Neera Rajopadhyay run out(Wongpaka Liengprasert) 2 4 10 0 0 50.00
Trishna Singh c and b Chanida Sutthiruang 3 27 35 0 0 11.11
Karuna Bhandari run out(Nattakan Chantham) 4 12 12 0 0 33.33
Sonu Khadka c Sornnarin Tippoch b Rattana Sangsoma 3 6 7 0 0 50.00
Mamta Thapa+ not out 3 15 10 0 0 20.00
Extras 0nb 10w 0lb 1b 0pen 11
Total 38 all out