Nepal Men, Nepal U19, News

This Day That Year: Sandeep Lamichhane’s IPL signing, Paras Khadka’s ODI century and more

Nothing is going well for Nepal cricket at the moment. Fans are tired of seeing poor batting displays and unfavorable results. The recently concluded Nepal T20 League was a fiasco with a couple of players jailed for spot-fixing.

Sandeep Lamichhane is also out of cricketing duty after the accusation of a rape case. And a hint of groupism among the players on the team. Moreover, the position of head coach is still vacant with an important home Tri-Series against Namibia and Scotland starting from 14th February.

However, January 28 had been a cherishing day for Nepal Cricket. Here’s what happened on this day over the different years:

January 28, 2018: Sandeep Lamichhane signed by Delhi Daredevils (now Capitals)

Sandeep Lamichhane created history, becoming the first player from Nepal to be bought by any franchise in the IPL. Delhi Daredevils roped him for 20 Lakhs INR, which was his base price. Playing nine matches for the franchise in two seasons He bagged 13 wickets.

Jan 28, 2019: Nepal’s first ODI series win and Paras Khadka’s maiden ODI ton

Nepal registered their maiden ODI series win against UAE on their own soil. Chasing a decent total of 255 in a decisive match, Paras Khadka scored a century, becoming the first Nepali batter to do so. He smashed 115 from 109 balls as Nepal sealed the win with 32 balls spare.

Jan 28, 2021: T10 League debut for Sompal Kami and Karan KC

Kushal Malla, Sompal Kami, and Karan KC were signed by the respective franchise for T10 League 2021. Sompal and Karan played their debut match for Maratha Arabians and Pune Devils respectively. Despite conceding expensive runs, both finished on the winning side.

Jan 28, 2016: Nepal stunned New Zealand in the U-19 World Cup

Nepal were off to a flying start after defeating New Zealand in the first match of the U-19 World Cup, in 2016. Raju Rijal’s 48 and Kushal Bhurtel’s 23-ball 35 helped Nepal post 238. In reply, Kiwis were bowled out for 206. Dipendra Singh Airee picked up three wickets while Prem Tamang grabbed two.