Three teams into last eight

KATHMANDU, June 27: Jubilant College confirmed its place in the quarterfinals of the ongoing 4th CCRC ICC T-20 Cricket Tournament after registering its second win on Monday. Jubilant defeated Classic College by two wickets in the match played at the TU Ground, Kirtipur.

Similarly, CCRC ´A´ and Bridgewater College also confirmed their quarterfinal berths as Group A winner and runner-up, respectively. CCRC defeated Bridgewater by 47 runs to top the points table.

Earlier in the first match, Jubilant won the toss and invited Classic to bat first. Classic was bundled out for a lowly 68 runs in 19.3 overs. Pushpa Thapa grabbed three wickets for Jubilant to restrict Classic to a low total, while Bal Bahadur Thapa and Rabindra Yadav took two wickets each. Naresh Budhayer, Binod Das and Basanta Regmi each scored 13 runs for Classic.

Jubilant reached the target in 16.2 overs losing eight wickets. Pushpa Thapa was the highest run scorer with 21 runs off 19 balls that included three huge sixes. Mahesh Chhetri scored 19 runs off 30 balls. Bhuwan Karki claimed three wickets for Classic, Rahul BK took two, while Binod Das and Basanta Regmi shared a wicket each.

Meanwhile, Gyanendra Malla´s half-century guided CCRC to a huge total of 124/8 against Bridgewater. Malla faced 35 balls and struck three fours and two huge sixes for his half-century. Bijay Thapa was not out on 23 runs off 22 balls.

Dipankar Yonjan of Bridgewater grabbed four wickets while Prasanna Shakya, Prakash Bista and Pawan Shrestha took a wicket each.

Tight bowling from CCRC then restricted Bridgewater to just 77 runs for the loss of eight wickets. Pawan Shrestha remained not out on 20 runs off 28 balls while Subendu Pandey scored 19 runs off 23 balls. Sanjam Regmi took three wickets in his four overs for CCRC. Bijay Thapa claimed two wickets while Mehboob Alam, Lal Bahadur Adhikari and Santosh Baral took a wicket each.