Tribhuwan Army clinches Koshi Province Trophy National T20 Cricket Tournament Title

Tribhuwan Army Club has won the title of Koshi Province Trophy National T20 Cricket Tournament. Army registered an easy nine-wicket win over Karnali Province in the final to lift the trophy.

In a final held at, Baijnathapur Ground, Biratnagar, Karnali were wrapped up for a mere 110 runs after opting to bat first. They had a good start with the top order scoring some runs. Openers Rabindra Jung Shahi and Manish Thapa scored 21 runs each whilst Bipin Rawal top scored with 27 runs. No other batters were able to cross double-digit score, except Dinesh Adhikari who made 12 runs from 19 balls. 

For Army, Shahab Alam (4-1-8-2) and Bashir Ahamad (4-0-12-2) bowled an exceptional spell. They conceded only 20 runs from their quota, picking up two wickets each. Sumit Shrestha and Trit Raj Das also picked up two wickets each. 

In response, Army completed the chase in 12.2 overs, losing just one wicket. Opener Santosh Karki walked back after scoring 11-ball 21. Trit Raj Das and Imran Sheikh then added 87* runs to secure a victory. Trit hammered 33-ball 50* whereas Imran scored 38* runs.

May be an image of 15 people

Shahab Alam took charge of leading the Army team in the tournament due to the absence of numerous key players, including their regular captain Binod Bhandari, who was on duty representing Nepal.

Trit Raj Das won the Player of the Match award in the final match. Das who scored 199 runs and picked up nine wickets was adjudged Player of the series too.

In the tournament, seven provinces and three departmental teams were split into two groups. Tribhuwan Army and Karnali Province progressed from Group A, while Lumbini Province and Sudurpaschim Province secured spots in the semifinals from Group B.