Triton and KU to Play for the Title

Triton International College and host Kathmandu Universityhave reached the final of  first inter university T20 Cricket Tournament played today, after winning their respective semi final matches played today at Kathmandu University’s Ground, Dhulikhel.

Rain intervened in today as well and the matches had to be shortened to 16 overs. KU defeated Nepal Engineering College by 25 run in the first semi-final. Triton on the other hand had a convincing 83 run win over Kantipur Engineering College. Both teams will meet tomorrow for the Cup.

1st Semi Final: KU vs NEC “A”

Kathmandu University won the toss and chose to bat, and put up a score of 116/5 in the allotted 16 overs. Player of the match of the quarter final Krishna Bista lead KU’s batting with more than run a ball half century. He scored 52 of 44 balls. Ankit Bikram Poudel contributed with 24 of 20 balls. Jitendra Nayak, man of the match of NEC’s quarter final  impressed once again bowling 4 overs for just 18 runs. Nayak and Ashsish Singh bagged a wicket each for NEC.

KU restricted NEC for 91/7 in 16 overs securing 15 runs victory and final berth. Raunak Jung Pandey and Krishna Bista bagged 2 wickets for each KU. Nishant Godhtoda top scored for NEC with 32 runs. Umesh Karn remained unbeaten on 11.

Krishna Bista was adjudged the player of the match for his all round performance once again.

2nd Semi Final: Triton vs. KEC

In the second semi final Triton thrashed KEC by massive 83 runs. Winning the toss and batting first, Triton put up huge score of 194/3 in 16 overs, thanks to half centuries from in form Rabin Joshi and Suman Uday. Rabin blasted 84 runs from just 34 balls while Uday contributed with a steadier 67 off 41. Prabin Joshi contributed unbeaten 22 from 17 balls.
Saurav Ghimere and Sagar Bhatta picked up wicket a piece for KEC.

Chasing KEC made exactaly Nelson “111” losing 7 wickets in 16 overs. Sishir Chandra Lohani (19) Nirmal Pandit (20) and Renish Shrestha (11) were the top scorers for KEC. For Triton Indra Kamal Manandhar was impressive with the ball once again bagging 3 wickets for 23 runs. Sabin Shrestha got two while Keshav Pant chipped in with one.

Rabin Joshi was chosen Player of the match by the umpires for his knock.