UAE clinch ACC Women’s T20 Championship title

UAE Women Cricket Team

United Arab Emirates (UAE) has been crowned the champion of the ACC Women’s T20 Championship. UAE remained unbeaten throughout the tournament, defeating the host Malaysia by five wickets in the final match.

Malaysia posted an average total of 100 runs in the allotted 20 overs after opting to bat first at Kinrara Academy Oval.

UAE restricted Malaysia to 22 runs and picked up two wickets in the powerplay. Wan Julia and Elsa Hunter then scored sluggish 20 and 15 runs respectively, however, Malaysia were in trouble after the departure of both batters within 11 overs. But Ainna Hashim and Nur Arianna Natsya added unbeaten 53 runs for the fifth wicket to guide Malaysia towards a fighting total. Ainna scored 28 while Nur added 25 runs.

Indhuja Nandakumar grabbed a couple of wickets for UAE whereas Chaya Mughal and Khusi Sharma pocketed one wicket each.

In reply, UAE chased the total with seven balls spare losing just five wickets. Theertha Satish single-handedly did the job for her team scoring 55 runs from just 42 balls hammering 9 boundaries. Only Khusi Sharma added a double-digit score (13*) for the chasing side apart from Theertha.

Mas Elysa, Nik Nur Atiela, and Aisya Eleesa grabbed one wicket each for Malaysia.

Theertha Satish was adjudged as player of the match as well as player of the series for playing a crucial role in UAE’s triumph. Esha Oza was awarded the best batter of the tournament trophy.

Despite losing the final, Malaysia had already booked a seat in the upcoming Asia Cup along with the champions UAE.

Malaysia stunned Hong Kong in the semi-final to cruise through the final. UAE on the other hand progressed to the final after their semi-final match against Nepal was called off due to the rain. UAE topped Group A whilst Nepal were runner-up in Group B.