Venues for WCL Division III ‘Advised’

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

ICC/Bermuda(27th November): The Bermuda Cricket Board (BCB) has conditionally announced the three grounds that will host matches during next year’s World Cricket League Division 3, following an inspection visit by ICC Development Events Manager Edward Fitzgibbon. The tournament is due to take place from 28th April to 5th May in 2013.

National Sports Centre, St David’s County Cricket Club and Somerset Cricket Club have all been passed to hold games – subject to minor upgrades and criteria that still need to be fulfilled – while Bailey Bay Cricket Club is a stand-by venue.

Fairmont Southampton will serve as the official tournament hotel and will house the teams and officials.

It is expected some local umpires will be used, both on field and as third officials.

Bailey Bay CC, Western Stars CC and St. Georges CC have all been approved for practice matches prior to the official tournament.

BCB 2nd Vice President Nyon Steede said: “On behalf of the President of the Bermuda Cricket Board I would like to thank the ICC for the positive assessment of our cricket facilities and infrastructure and to Government for its foresight and assistance in securing this major competition.

“Also, I would like to thank the clubs, volunteers and Board members that have allowed for a smooth inspection process.

“Bermuda should anticipate the excitement and engagement of the cricket community in delivering a memorable event. I urge the public to support and take pride in the international recognition that hosting an event such as this brings and we look forward to Bermuda returning to the top flight of international senior cricket.”

St David’s Cricket Club’s ground, better known as Lords, will be one of the sites of Pepsi ICC Divsion III matches next year, and has characteristic resemblance to TU International Ground. Photo: Agency

Nepal is going to join the host Bermuda, Uganda, Italy, Oman, and USA, representing four of the five ICC regions. The top two countries after the five round-robin matches will advance to the World Cup qualifiers in New Zealand in February, 2014. They will also meet in the play-off final for top spot while other matches will also be played for Division Three rankings.

Nepal jumped to division three after they won the division 4, dominating all the matches in the tournament held earlier this year.


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -