Nepal Men

West Indies A secure T20 series victory over Nepal with a game to spare

West Indies A has won the T20 series against Nepal with a match spare. With 28 runs victory in the fourth game of the series, West Indies A are 3-1 ahead in the series, confirming their triumph.

On Thursday, Nepal were defeated by 28 runs while chasing a big target of 210 runs. They managed to post 181 runs in the allotted 20 overs, losing all the wickets.

Nepal lost Aasif Sheikh for a duck in the second ball. Kushal Bhurtel (1) and Kushal Malla (4) also walked back cheaply as Nepal were 31/3 in the fifth over. Captain Rohit Paudel and Sundeep Jora added 40 runs for the fourth wicket before Jora was dismissed for 19.

Rohit Paudel kept going and added 54 runs with DS Airee for the fifth wicket. He was dismissed by Hayden Walsh in the 14th over after scoring 82 runs (57 balls) with seven fours and five sixes. The following batters DS Airee and Gulshan Jha were sent back for 19 runs each. Abinash Bohara smacked 17* from eight balls at the end whilst Sompal Kami made 10 runs. Eventually, they were bowled out for 181 in the last ball of the inning.

For West Indies A, Matthew Forde and Hayden Walsh were a pick of a bowler. They picked up three wickets each and ended with a figure of 4-0-25-3 and 4-0-26-3.

Earlier, West Indies A managed to post a big total of  209/3. Opting to bat first at TU Cricket Ground, West Indies A managed to post big after half-centuries from Johnson Charles and Andre Fletcher.

Pratish GC dismissed Alick Athanaze early for just five runs. However, Charles and Fletcher then shared 92 runs for the second wicket. Charles scored 58 runs (30 balls) before being dismissed by Kushal Bhurtel. Keacy Carty struggled and was dismissed for four from 10 balls.

Fletcher anchored the inning and stayed unbeaten till the end. He scored 84 from 54 balls with the help of nine fours and four sixes. Fabian Allen scored not out 33 from 19 balls, hammering three sixes.

For Nepal, Kushal Bhurtel was a pick of a bowler. He picked up two wickets and ended with a figure of 4-0-23-2. Pratish GC picked up one wicket (4-0-43-1). Lalit Rajbanshi and Abinash Bohara were expensive conceding 53 and 42 runs respectively. Gulshan Jha and Sompal bowled two overs each and were wicketless.