Western register 2 run victory, enter semi finals

Kanchanpur – Western Region registered an interesting win by 2 runs against Mid Western Region to enter into the semi finals of the ongoing National Men’s T20 Cricket tournament in the sixth national games.

Played at Covered Hall Ground, Kanchanpur, Western chose to bat first after winning the toss.

Unbeaten 51 runs from Dipesh Khatri and 34 runs from Sagar Pun put up the western side to a moderate total of 113 runs for loss of 7 wickets of the maximum 20 overs. Khatri played 38 balls with hitting four fours and two sixes.Pun batted of 39 balls with three fours and two sixes.

Navin Shahi picked up the three wickets for Mid West for 12 runs off 4 over spell as Western batsman struggled in between losing quick wickets. The 33 runs partnership for the fourth wicket between Khatri and Pun proved to be the only good inning for Western.

Mid Western which lost two early wickets at the score of 7 runs kept up the inning upto 64 for 3 in 14th over as Shubendu Pandey and Anupam Singh put up the third wicket partnership of 57 runs. Pandey scored 32 runs off 40 balls with a four and two sixes while Singh remained unbeaten at 56 runs off 46 deliveries that included three fours and equal sixes. Other batsman failed to provide good score for the teal as they had to get restricted to a score of 111 runs just 3 runs away from the victory in 20 overs losing 3 wickets.

Dipesh Khatri and Rahul Kumar Vishwakarma grabbed two wickets each for the winning side while Krishna Karki, Bijay Thapa and Lal Bahadur Adhikari picked up wicket apiece.

In the second match, Central Region defeated Eastern Region by 7 wickets to enter into the semi final.

Eastern opted to bat first after winning the toss. Opening partnership of 31 runs could not continue as Eastern managed to score only 104 runs in 19.5 overs losing all wickets. Manoj Mandal made 14 runs off 20 balls with a four and Amol Das made 15 runs off 20 balls with a four and a six, as the opening pair. Jugal Kishore Chaudhary scored 21 runs off 26 balls hitting a boundary and a six. Santosh Adhikari played 12 balls for 14 runs with two fours. Anup Karki made 10 runs with a six.

Naresh Raj Giri grabbed three wickets, Binod Das, Rupesh Shrivastav and Nischal Pandey shared two wickets each while Pramod Basnet picked up a wicket for Central.

In reply, Central Region chased the target in just 13.4 overs. From the position of 22 for 3 wickets in 3.5 overs, Anil Mandal and Binod Das put up a partnership of 86 runs for Central’s win. Mandal remained unbeaten at 34 runs off 25 balls with four fours and a six while Das remained not out at 48 runs off 36 balls with three fours and four sixes. Hasim Ansari scored 16 runs off 9 balls with two fours and a six.

Amit Dahal grabbed the only three wickets for Eastern Region.

Central Region reached to the semifinal as group winner & Far Western Region as group runner up from group A while from group B, APF reached to the semifinal as group winner & Western as group runner up.

In the women’s event played at Anchal Prahari Ground, Kanchanpur, Mid Western Region chose to field first against APF after winning the toss.

Rubina Chhetri score 21 runs while Karuna Bhandari made 11 runs for APF to put up the low total of 79 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs.

Samjhana Sharma, Trishna Singh, Amrita Kasai and Anu KC grabbed a wicket each for Mid West.

Mamta Thapa scored 17 runs, Rekha BC put up 12 while Trishna Singh added 10 runs for Mid West chasing the target in 19.3 overs in loss of 8 wickets to win by 2 wickets.

Binu Budhamagar and Karuna Bhandari picked up two and single wicket respectively for APF.

In the second match, Far Western Region defeated Western Region by 12 runs and entered into the semi finals. Far West batted first after winning the toss and made a good total of 130 runs for 6 wickets in 20 overs. Maya Rawat played 49 ball- 47 runs with three fours and Bindu Rawat added 19 runs while Roshani Bohara scored 10 runs.

Prabina Khadka picked up three wickets for Western while Indu Berma and Babita Giri shared wicket apiece.

In reply, two wickets from Roshani Chand and a wicket from Janaki Bhatt helped Far West restrict Western Region to 118 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs.

Indu Berma remained unbeaten at 49 runs off 46 balls with three fours and Pratikshya Bashyal added 10 runs for West.


Match Summary of Day III
Sixth National Games:
Men’s T-20 National
Western Region Vs Mid Western Region
Toss: Western won & elected to bat first
Western: 113/7 (20 overs)
Dipesh Khatri 51 n.o.(38 balls, 4 fours, 2 sixes), Sagar Pun 34(39 balls, 3 fours, 2 sixes)
Navin Shahi 3 Wkts, Pratik Hamal 1 Wkt, Ramesh Pun1 Wkt, Siddhant Raj Shahi 1 Wkt
Mid Western: 111/7 (20 overs)
Anupam Singh 56 n.o. (46 balls, 3 fours, 3 sixes), Shubendu Pandey 32 (40 balls, 1 four, 2 sixes)
Dipesh Khatri 2 Wkts, Rahul Kumar Vishwakarma 2 Wkts, Krishna Karki 1 Wkt, Bijay Thapa 1 Wkt, Lal Bahadur Adhikari 1 Wkt
Result: Western won by 2 runs and reached to the semi final
Sixth National Games:
Women’s T-20 National
APF Vs Mid Western Region
Toss: Mid Western won & elected to field first
APF: 79/8 (20 overs)
Rubina Chhetri 21, Karuna Bhandari 11
Samjhana Sharma 1 Wkt, Trishna Singh 1 Wkt, Amrita Kasai 1 Wkt, Anu KC 1 Wkt
Mid Western: 80/8 (19.3 overs)
Mamta Thapa 17, Rekha BC 12, Trishna Singh 10
Binu Budhamagar 2 Wkts, Karuna Bhandari 1 Wkt
Result: Mid Western won by 2 wickets
Sixth National Games:
Men’s T-20 National
Eastern Region Vs Central Region
Toss: Eastern won & elected to bat first
Eastern: 104/10 (19.5 overs)
Jugal Kishore Chaudhary 21, Amol Das 15, Manoj Mandal 14, Santosh Adhikari 14
Naresh Raj Giri 3 Wkts, Binod Das 2 Wkts, Rupesh Shrivastav 2 Wkts, Nischal Pandey 2 Wkts, Pramod Basnet 1 Wkt
Central: 108/3 (13.4 overs)
Binod Das 48 n.o. (36 balls, 3 fours, 4 sixes), Anil Mandal 34 n.o. (25 balls, 4 fours, 1 six), Hasim Ansari 16
Amit Dahal 3 Wkts
Result: Central Region won the match by 7 wickets & reached to the semifinal.
Sixth National Games:
Women’s T-20 National
Western Region Vs Far Western Region
Toss: Far Western won & elected to bat first
Far Western: 130/6 (20 overs)
Maya Rawat 47 (49 balls, 3 fours), Bindu Rawat 19, Roshani Bohara 10
Prabina Khadka 3 Wkts, Indu Berma 1 Wkt, Babita Giri 1 Wkt
Western: 118/7 (20 overs)
Indu Berma 49 n.o. (46 balls, 3 fours), Pratikshya Bashyal 10
Roshani Chand 2 Wkts, Janaki Bhatt 1 Wkt
Result: Far Western won the match by 12 runs & reached to the semifinal.


Points Table, Men’s T20 National Cricket Tournament
Teams Played Won Lost No Result Points
Group A Central 2 2 4
Far Western 2 1 1 2
Eastern 2 2 0
Group B APF 2 2 4
Western 2 1 1 2
Mid Western 2 2 0


Points Table, Women’s T20 National Cricket Tournament
Teams Played Won Lost No Result Points NRR
Group A APF 2 1 1 2 +0.61
Eastern 2 1 1 2 -0.21
Mid Western 2 1 1 2 -0.377
Group B Central 2 2 4
Far Western 2 1 1 2
Western 2 2 0

Cenral Region will face Western Region in the first semi final while APF will take on Far Western Region in the second semi final of the men’s tournament on Thursday.

APF will play against Far Western Region while Eastern Region will face Central Region in the women’s semi final matches on Thursday.

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staffhttps://cricnepal.com
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -