Yeti clinches Corporate Clash title

Latest news

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Yeti Airlines won the Corporate Clash Twenty20 title defeating Citizens Bank International by 36 runs here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium today.

Batting first, Yeti Airlines scored 173-2 before restricting Citizens to 137-8 in 20 overs. Yeti got off to a flying start with openers Sandeep Shrestha and Narendra KC putting on 134 runs in 16.5 overs before both were out in the space of four runs.

Shrestha struck eight fours and three sixes in his fiery 54-ball 75, while KC scored 41 off 46 balls including five fours and a six. Dipesh Shrestha and Kalam Ali remained unbeaten on 18 and 12 runs respectively. Amit Khanal and Binay Gautan took one wicket each for Citizens Bank.

In reply, Citizens openers Swastik Subedi and Sanjeeb Shrestha added 71 runs in nine overs, but that was not enough for them to guide their team to victory as others failed to build partnerships. Shrestha scored 55 off 50 balls hitting eight fours, while Subedi scored 17 of 21 balls. Skipper Sharad Pokharel (18) and Nabin Karki (12) were the only other batsmen to score in double digits for Citizens.

Kalam Ali took three wickets, while Prafulla Baidya claimed two and man-of-the-match Sandeep Shrestha one for Yeti Airlines. Yeti also bagged three individual awards. Shrestha was declared the best batsman and player of the series, while Baidya received the best bowler’s honour.

Vice-president of Cricket Association of Nepal Ramesh Silwal, national coach Manzur Alam, national team skipper Paras Khadka, Region-III Secretary Naresh Rana and Nepal APF Club coach Raju Basnyat gave away prizes to the winners of the tournament organised by Kathmandu Cricket Training Centre.


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -