Young faces in Nepal Squad for T20 World Cup Global Qualifier

Allrounder Sompal Kami and Wicket-keeper batter Binod Bhandari have been left out of the Squad as the Cricket Association of Nepal announced the final 16-members for the upcoming 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier Group A.

As tweeted by the CAN on Thursday, Allrounder Bibek Yadav and young attacking batter Lokesh Bam are the new faces in the squad. Likewise, Sharad Vesawkar, Pradeep Airee, and fast bowler Jitendra Mukhiya are making their comeback in the national squad.

Allrounder Bibek Yadav was part of the Province 2 and Nepal U19 squad. He managed 87 runs in four innings with unbeaten 36 runs as his highest score and picked up 5 wickets, during the recently concluded Prime Minister T20 Cup. In U19 Asia Cup, Yadav scored 69 runs and grabbed three wickets in three matches.

Likewise, Lokesh Bam moved to the Nepal APF club from the Tribhuvan Army Club for this year’s Prime Minister Cup. He showcased his hard-hitting skill during the semi-final match against the derby team Army Club, managing nine sixes in his innings of unbeaten 66 from 18 balls. In six innings, he managed 152 runs with a strike rate of 211.11 and 13 sixes. He also managed two fifties in the tournament.

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier Group A is being held in Oman from 17 – 24 February 2022. Germany, Ireland, Philippines, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Canada, Nepal and hosts Oman are participating in the qualifiers. The top two teams will advance to the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

Nepal is placed in Group B alongside Bahrain, Canada, and the hosts Oman.

CAN picked the final 16-member team from the 30-players pool during the closed training.

Squad: Sandeep Lamichhane (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Bheshavkar, Aarif Sheikh, Karan KC, Jitendra Mukhiya, Abhinash Bohara, Shahab Alam, Kamal Singh Airee, Kushal Malla, Bivek Yadav, Lokesh Bam and Pradeep Airee.