Chitwan Tigers clinch maiden EPL title

Chitwan Tigers - Winner of 2021 EPL

Chitwan Tigers scripted a monumental EPL victory, beating Pokhara Rhinos by four wickets in the finale on Saturday.

Sompal Kami-led Chitwan Tigers also won their maiden EPL title. Along with the title, they received Rs 5 million as a cash prize. Likewise, the runners-up Pokhara was awarded Rs 1.5 million.

Chitwan also dominated during the award ceremony. Their slow left-arm orthodox spinner, Sagar Dhakal was declared Player of the Series. Dhakal was outstanding with the ball during the tournament as he finished as the highest wicket-taker, grabbing 14 wickets. Along with the title, he received a Bajaj Pulsar NS 200cc motorcycle.

Similarly, Chitwan’s Bhim Sarki received an emerging player’s award. Pacer Kamal Singh Airee of Chitwan received Dare to Dream Award. Bhim and Kamal each received Rs 51,000.


Chitwan chase the 112 runs target set by Pokhara, losing six wickets in 15.5 overs, played at the Kirtipur Cricket Ground.

Bhim Sarki played a match-winning knock of 63 runs. He struck seven fours and two sixes in 45 balls. Similarly, Dilip Nath added 18 runs while Rajesh Pulami scored 14 runs. Similarly, Mohammad Sahajad added 11 runs while captain Sompal Kami hit the winning shot for a boundary.

Pokhara’s pacer Kishor Mahato took four wickets while another pacer Nandan Yadav took two wickets.

After losing the toss, Pokhara were bowled out for 111 runs in 17.5 overs. Asela Gunaratne top-scored for Pokhara with 34 runs while Richard Levy contributed 26 runs. Bipin Rawal remained unbeaten on 17, captain Binod Bhandari managed 22 runs.

Pacer Kamal Singh Airee was the pick of the bowlers as he grabbed four wickets in the process of taking Pokhara on a cheap. Similarly, Karim Janat and Sekugge Prasanna took two wickets each. Sompal Kami and Sagar Dhakal took one wicket each.