PM Cup Men's One Day

Madhesh Province bags third win defeating Karnali Province

Madhesh Province has bagged their third win in the ongoing Prime Minister (PM) Cup Men’s National Tournament. On Saturday, They defeated Karnali Province by 61 runs at TU Cricket Ground.

Electing to bat first, Madhesh ended the allotted 50 overs on 231/9. The top order yielded a terrific start but the middle order couldn’t capitalize it. Harishankar Shah and Anil Sah added 85 runs for the opening wicket before Anil was sent back for a run-a-ball 44 runs. Harishankar scored 61-ball 50 before departing. No.3 batter, Mayan Yadav also scored 50 runs from 88. Apart from that, Abhisekh Tiwari contributed 34 runs.

Dipendra Rawat was a pick of a bowler for Karnali. He picked up four wickets and ended with a spell of 10-1-39-4. Anuj Chanara grabbed two wickets whilst the other three bowlers pocketed one each.

May be an image of 2 people, people playing tennis and text
POTM Harishankar Shah

Karnali were never in the contest and lost the wickets at regular intervals. They were wrapped up for 170 runs in 41.1 overs. Arjun Gharti top scored with 58 runs from 105 balls. Dinesh Adhikari coming to bat at no.9 scored 33 runs from 33 balls. Opener Bipin Shahi also scored 31 runs.

All seven used bowlers were able to pick a wicket for Madhesh. Rajesh Yadav picked up three whereas Pradip Paswan pocketed two wickets.

Madhesh has risen to third position with six points. They have played five matches and won three of them. Meanwhile, Karnali have won two and lost two in four matches.