Malaysia announces squad for Nepal T20I Tri-Series

Malaysia Cricket Association (MCA) has announced a 15-men squad for the upcoming Tri-Nation Series to be held in Kathmandu from 17-24 April.

Malaysian’s Coach Bilal Asad named an experienced squad including captain Ahmad Faiz to compete against Nepal and Netherlands in the seven-match series. Virandeep Singh will be his deputy.

Former national captain Anwar Arudin, Syed Aziz, Ainool Hafizs, Khizar Hayat, Syazrul Idrus, Dhivendran Mogan, Sharvin Muniandy, Anwar Rahman, Aminuddin Ramly, Fitri Sham, Shafiq Sharif, Pavandeep Singh, and Muhammad Wafiq are part of the squad traveling to Nepal to play Twenty20 International matches.

“It is a well-balanced team and I am confident that they will adapt well to the conditions in Nepal and perform to the best of their ability,” Vijayalingam V, Chairman of the MCA Selection Committee said.

Malaysia currently sits at the 32nd position with 2,557 points in the ICC’s T2OI team rankings. Nepal is in the 15th spot with 4,148 points and the Netherlands 17th on 4,618 points.

“We are ready for the Tri-Series in Nepal. This is going to give us an opportunity to move up the ladder in the T20 ranking. The team and I are looking forward to excel outside of our Home Ground Kinrara Oval and to meeting Nepal and Netherlands,” Ahmad Faiz, Captain of the Malaysian team said.