Nepal Men, News

Nepal announce 17-man squad for Asia Cup 2023

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has unveiled Nepal Cricket Team’s squad for the much anticipated Asia Cup 2023. The Asia Cup 2023 is set to be hosted in a hybrid model in Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

A 17-man squad led by Rohit Paudel will be seen representing Team Nepal in the country’s maiden Asia Cup appearance.

Shyam Dhakal, Sundeep Jora, Kishore Mahato and Arjun Saud have cemented their place in the squad. Meanwhile, Surya Tamang and Dev Khanal miss out.

Nepal will be travelling to Pakistan earlier than its original schedule to prepare for Asia Cup. The Nepalese team will reach Pakistan on 22 August, ahead of their initially planned schedule. They will practice in Karachi from August 22nd to August 26th.

After a practice in Karachi, Team Nepal will travel to Multan on August 27. They will play against Pakistan on August 30 in the first match of the Asia Cup 2023. Then both sides will fly to Sri Lanka, where they will play a match against India.

Nepal will face India in Kandy on September 4. Meanwhile, the much-anticipated India versus Pakistan is scheduled on September 2.

Nepal, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are set to compete in the 13-match tournament. Pakistan, Nepal and India are placed in Group A, while Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are in Group B.

Nepal’s Squad: Rohit Paudel (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC, Shyam Dhakal, Sundeep Jora, Kishore Mahato and Arjun Saud