ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, News

Netherlands announces the squad for World Cup Qualifier: Several key players absent

Cricket Netherlands has announced the squad to tour Zimbabwe for World Cup Qualifiers. Scott Edwards will lead the 15-man squad unveiled on Wednesday.

The Dutch side will miss several key players due to county cricket commitments. Colin Ackermann, Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, and Roelof van der Merwe are not included in the Netherlands’ squad for the crucial tournament because of the county protocol.

Nepal and Netherlands are placed in the same group along with West Indies, Zimbabwe and the USA. They will face each other on June 24 at Takashinga ground.

The Netherlands had a disappointing performance in the Super League, finishing at the bottom and being forced to play in the Qualifier. The top eight teams from the tournaments secured direct qualification for the Cricket World Cup 2023, set to take place in India.

Captain Scott Edwards expressed confidence in the squad selected for the qualifiers, emphasizing the team’s preparation and their ability to play a successful brand of cricket in the given conditions. The squad consists of a blend of experienced players and promising young talents who have demonstrated strong performances in the domestic Pro Series and club season prior to the tournament.

The tournament is scheduled to take place between June 18th and July 9th. The top three teams from both groups will advance to the Super Six stage. In the Super Six, those teams will face each other, and the two teams with the highest rankings will proceed to the final. Both finalists will secure their spots in the Cricket World Cup 2023. ICC has already revealed the fixtures for the tournament.

West Indies and Scotland have already made official announcements regarding their respective squads for the tournament. On the other hand, Nepal has unveiled a preliminary squad comprising 22 players.

Netherlands Squad: Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Logan van Beek, Vikram Singh, Aryan Dutt, Viv Kingma, Bas de Leede, Noah Croes, Ryan Klein, Teja Nidamanuru, Wesley Barresi, Shariz Ahmad, Clayton Floyd, Michael Levitt, Saqib Zulfiqar.