Pawan’s heroics helps Nepal to lift ACC U-16 title

Kathmandu – Pawan Sharraf’s blistering knock of 44 rubs from just 26 balls aided Nepal to lift ACC U-16 Premier title for the first time beating Malaysia in the final by 32 runs. This completes Nepal’s title hurdle in age group cricket under ACC. Previously, Nepal had won the U-15s, U-17s and the U-19s title.

Having won all age group tournaments except the U-16s, Nepal were desperate win this tournament for the last six years being defeated in ten final in the last two editions.

Pawan came at the crease at a time when Nepal were 92/5 with just 10 overs remaining. Once it looked like Nepal won’t cross the 140 mark. But he and Jitendra added 57 runs for the seventh wicket to guide Nepal to a respectable total. He hit four 4s and two 6s in his innings before being caught by Hadli of Hazia for 44 runs.

On a good batting surface, Malaysia invited Nepal to bat first winning the toss. Nepal lost their first wicket in the sixth over when the score was just 15. Nalin de Silva had Sushant Singh Thapa caught behind . Nepal lost another wicket 8 runs later and were on trouble. But Rabi Chand and Asif Sheikh added 36 runs for 3rd wicket before said was next to go for 20 runs leaving Nepal 59/3 by the end or 22nd over. Rabi held one end carefully though Nepal lost quick wickets and guided Nepal upto 92/5 in the 30th over. He was out for a fluent 34 runs of Ishla.

There were many Ups and downs in the match but Pawan and Jitendra ensured Nepal to 161/9 at the end.
Chasing a good total, Nepal were electric in the field producing 4 run outs to win the match. The first two run outs being at the begining of the innings and two being at the end of the game including that of Malaysian Captain Virandeep Singh. Highest wicket taker in the tournament Jitemdra Singh garbbed 2 wickets in the 17th over to leave Malaysia tattering at 37 for 4. Rijan Dhakal and those two run outs ensured Nepal won’t go empty hands this time to pack up Malaysia for 129 runs in the 36.2 overs.

It was indeed a complete team effort for Nepal from the begining of the tournament to the end of tournament. Nepal also avenged their painful 1 wicket loss to the same team at the same ground two years back.

Winners: Nepal
Most Promising Player: Anil Kharel (Nepal)
Bowler of the Tournament: Jitendra Singh (Nepal)
Batsman of the Tournament: Virandeep Singh (Malaysia)
Player of the Tournament: Virandeep Singh (Malaysia)

cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff
cricnepal Staff writes the news on National and International cricket.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -