National, News, PM Cup Men's One Day

PM CUP: Match-Day 5 Summary 

Similar to the previous four days, Match-Day 5 of the Prime Minister (PM) Cup Men’s National Tournament was highly exciting. Bagmati Province registered a commanding win against the departmental side – Tribhuwan Army whilst Karnali also bagged their second win.

No century and just one half-century were scored on the fifth day. Surya Tamang bagged back-to-back fifers in the tournament. Here’s what happened on the fifth match-day:

Bagmati Province vs Tribhuwan Army Cub – Mulpani

TAC: 97/10 (27.1 overs)
Bagmati: 103/7 (22.1 overs)
Bagmati won by 3 wickets

Army’s decision to bat first backfired as they were wrapped up for a mere 97 runs. Pacers Pratish GC and Rijan Dhakal started brilliantly whilst Surya Tamang destroyed the middle order. Binod Bhandari top-scored with 28 runs. For Bagmati, Surya bagged two consecutive fifers and ended with a spell of 9-2-26-5. Pratish and Rijan also picked up two wickets each.

Army didn’t let two points go easily and fought well with Bagmati. Ashok Paudel’s courageous 21 and Pratish GC’s unbeaten 21 made the difference as Bagmati sealed the win in 22.1 overs. For Army, Sompal Kami picked up three wickets whereas Shahab Alam and Jitendra Mukhiya also pocketed two wickets each.

May be an image of 3 people and text
POTM Surya Tamang

Karnali Province vs Lumbini Province – Bhairahawa

Karnali: 184/9 (45 overs)
Lumbini: 124/10 (41.2 overs)
Karnali won by 60 runs

Invited to bat first, Karnali were in a difficult position of 86/7. Dipendra Rawat and Dinesh Adhikari shared 72 runs for the eighth wicket before Rawat was dismissed for 47 runs. Dinesh scored an unbeaten 59-ball 56 to help his side post a respectful total. For Lumbini, Avishek Gautam and Nirmal Gurung picked up three wickets each.

Lumbini had no answers against Karnali’s bowler as they were bowled out for 124. Only Krishna Karki scored 47 runs for Lumbini. Dinesh Adhikari himself was the pick of a bowler for Karnali, picking up three wickets. Anuj Chanara and Dipendra Rawat also bagged two wickets each.

May be an image of 3 people and text
POTM Dinesh Adhikari