International, News

Unbeaten India wins T20 World Cup 2024

India have emerged as the champions of the T20 World Cup 2024. They defeated South Africa in the final to clinch their second T20 World Cup title. India remained unbeaten throughout the tournament, becoming the first team to win the T20 World Cup without losing a match.

In a thrilling final match at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, India secured a victory by seven runs. This marks India’s first World Cup win since their 2011 triumph in the 50-over World Cup on home soil. The last time India won the T20 World Cup was in the inaugural edition back in 2007. They have joined England and West Indies in the list of two-times T20 World Cup winners.

Chasing a decent target of 177 runs, South Africa lost two early wickets in the form of Reeza Hendricks and Aiden Markram as they were 12/2 in the third over. Tristan Stubbs and Quinton de Kock then shared 58 runs for the third wicket before Stubbs walked back for 31.

De Kock departed for 39 runs before Heinrich Klaasen played an electrifying knock of a 23-ball half-century with five biggies to put the Proteas in the driving seat. He departed just when SA needed 26 runs from 24 balls. Just after that, Pandya, Bumrah and Arshdeep conceded just 10 runs from the three overs.

SA needed 16 runs from Pandya’s last over with Miller on the strike. Pandya dismissed Miller in the first ball and conceded just eight runs to ensure India’s win. SA finished their 20 overs at 169/8.

Earlier, India having elected to bat first posted a decent score of 176/7. Despite a cracking start, India found themselves in a tricky situation of 34/3 in the fifth over.

Axar Patel, promoted to no.5 scored a brilliant 47 runs and shared 72 runs with Virat Kohli. Shivam Dube also played a vital knock of 16-ball 27. Virat who completed his half-century in 48 balls accelerated in the later phase and scored 76 runs from 59 balls. India collected 42 runs from the last three overs.

For South Africa, Nortje and Maharaj picked up two wickets each whilst Rabada and Jansen also got one apiece.