In Focus, National, Nepal Men

Government felicitates cricketers, Rs 1M each for Div 2 winning team

Kathmandu- The Ministry of Youth and Sports (MoYS) on Wednesday, felicitated the ICC World Cricket League Division 3 winning team with a cash of Rs 1,00,000 each. Nepal had successfully defended the Division 3 title in Malaysia on October 30 beating Uganda in the final by 62 runs.

Minister Purushottam Poudel felicitated the squad that included Skipper Paras Khadka, Gyanendra Malla, Subash Khakurel, Naresh Budhayer, Binod Bhandari, Sharad Veswakar, Basant Regmi, Shakti Gauchan, Sompal Kami, Sagar Pun, Amrit Bhattarai, Bhuwan Karki, and Aarif Sheikh.

Coach Pubudu Dassanayeke, Analyst Raman Shiwakoti and Assistant coach Jagat Tamata were also rewarded.

Meanwhile, the Government has also declared to award each member with Rs 1 million if Nepal wins the Division 2 crown next month. This comes as a motivation for the players ahead of the tournament.

Nepal team is currently on a close- camp in Kathmandu. They will move towards South Africa on January 3 for 10-days preparation ahead of the global tournament.